Chris Loschetter wins his second career EBT title in inaugural Brunswick Italia Challenge


    2012 European Bowling Tour #10

    PBA players dominate the leaderboard; Nina Flack of Sweden wins women's ranking

    2012EBT04ChrisLoschetter.jpg201112PBA03SeanRash2.jpgPro bowler Chris Loschetter (pictured left) of Avon, Ohio, United States, captured his second career title on the European Bowling Tour in the inaugural Brunswick Italia Challenge Sunday, July 1st, at Bowling Red & Black in Asti, Italy.

    The 10-year PBA member, who is still looking for his first PBA Tour title, finished round robin match play with a 13-game total of 3,155 pins including 150 bonus to celebrate a 55-pin margin of victory over PBA Player of the Year Sean Rash (right) of Montgomery, Ill., USA.

    2012EBT04DominicBarrett.jpg201112PBARyanCiminelli.jpgRash, who won the 2012 PBA Tournament of Champions for his fifth career PBA title was second with 3100 total including 120 bonus and was followed by Dominic Barrett (left) of England in third place with 3026 including 140 bonus. Barrett won his first PBA title in the 2011 PBA World Series of Bowling.

    Fourth place belonged to one-time PBA champion Ryan Ciminelli (right) of Cheektowaga, N.Y., USA, who knocked down 3020 pins including 60 bonus pins. Rounding out the top 5 was five-time PBA Regional champion Ronnie Russell (below left) of Marion, Ind. USA, with 2995 including 100 bonus.

    201112PBARonnieRussell.jpg2011WWCNinaFlack.jpgLoschetter pocketed 9.000 Euro for the win, Rash collected 4.500 for second, Barrett earned $2.500 for third, Ciminelli received $2.000 for fourth and Russell garnered $1.800 for fifth.

    U.S. players half won half of the ten EBT titles this season. Mike Faganof Dallas, Texas, who currently leads the men's point ranking, is the only two-time winner this season. Three-time WTBA World Champion Bill O'Neill of Southampton, Pa. and PBA Hall of Famer Brian Voss have won one title each this season.

    WBTA World Champion and past EBT Women's point ranking leader Nina Flack (right) of Sweden was the sole out of 25 women, who survived the qualifying cut, to win the women's ranking in Asti.

    2012BrunswickItaliaChallenge_small.jpg The inaugural Brunswick Italia Challenge was the 10th stop of the 2012 European Bowling Tour and the fifth out of eight EBT "Silver" tournaments this season. The tournament was held from June 23 through July 1 at 24-lane Bowling Red & Black in Asti, Italy.

    The BIT offered total prize fund of 47.150 Euro with 9.000 Euro going to the winner, 4.500 Euro to the runner-up and 2.500 Euro to the third place finisher.

    Qualifying ran from Saturday June 23 through Saturday, June 30. Women received 8 pins handicap each game, a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour.

    A total of 58 players advanced to the finals including the top 40 qualifiers, the top 12 of the squads from June 23-28, the top 4 of the Turbo game and the top 2 of the Desperado Squad. The top 10 earned one bye.

    Two four-game rounds each starting from scratch trimmed the field to 24 and then 10 players, who determined the champion in round robin match play.

    2012EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2012 European Bowling Tour is made up of 21 events in 16 countries including two Platinum, four Gold, eight Silver and seven Satellite tournaments.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event earn ranking points based on how they finish in the event. The winner of a Platinum tournament receives 250 ranking points, the winner of a Gold tournament gets 150, the winner of a Silver tournament such as the Brunswick Italia Challenge 2012 earns 100, and the winner of a Satellite tournament gets 50 ranking points.

    Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 16 men and top 16 women who will compete in the sixth EBT Masters in Bratislava, Slovakia in Sept. 2013.

    The EBT is in San Marino this week for the 8th San Marino Open, the second "Gold" event this season, which will be held from July 7-15 at Rose'n Bowl in Serravalle.


    Related Articles

    2012 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions, Men's and Women's Ranking Winners
    2012 EBT Ranking - Women and Men


    2012 Brunswick Italia Challenge - Final Standings

    Players with position, country and earnings

    1. Chris Loschetter, United States, 9.000 Euro
    2. Sean Rash, United States, 4.500 Euro
    3. Dominic Barrett, England, 2.500 Euro
    4. Ryan Ciminelli, United States, 2.000 Euro
    5. Ronnie Russell, United States, 1.800 Euro
    6. Daniel Vezis, England, 1.400 Euro
    7. Paul Moor, England, 1.300 Euro
    8. Erik Marrone, Italy, 1.100 Euro
    9. Petteri Salonen, Finland, 1.000 Euro
    10. Peter Ljung, Sweden, 900 Euro
    11. Enzo Zucchinelli, Italy, 800 Euro
    12. Michael Loos, Austria, 800 Euro
    13. Paul Stott Jnr, Ireland, 750 Euro
    14. Massimo Pirozzi, Italy, 750 Euro
    15. Brian Valenta, United States, 750 Euro
    16. Stuart Williams, England, 700 Euro
    17. Mattias Olsson, Sweden, 700 Euro
    18. Mathieu Berges, Switzerland, 700 Euro
    19. Andrey Suslov, Russia, 650 Euro
    20. Mattias Wetterberg, Sweden, 650 Euro
    21. Martin Larsen, Sweden, 650 Euro
    22. Francesco Ponti, Italy, 600 Euro
    23. Kim Andersson, Sweden, 600 Euro
    24. Domenico Maddaloni, Italy, 600 Euro
    25. Marek Talpa, Czech Republic, 500 Euro
    26. Yiannis Stathatos, Greece, 500 Euro
    27. Nina Flack, Sweden, 500 Euro
    28. Sandro Ancarani, Switzerland, 500 Euro
    29. Rob Thurlby, England, 500 Euro
    30. Joonas Jähi, Finland, 500 Euro
    31. Maurizio Celli, Italy, 500 Euro
    32. Thomas Larsen, Denmark, 500 Euro
    33. Mario Vercellino, Italy, 400 Euro
    34. Diego Biolghini, Italy, 400 Euro
    35. Teemu Raatikainen, Finland, 400 Euro
    36. Marco Parapini, Italy, 400 Euro
    37. Eros Origlia, Italy, 400 Euro
    38. Andreas Andersson, Sweden, 400 Euro
    39. Fabio Cimino, Italy, 400 Euro
    40. Nico D'Achille, Italy, 400 Euro
    41. Peder Grimsen, Sweden, 300 Euro
    42. Mathias Arup, Sweden, 300 Euro
    43. Giorgio Bódis, Hungary, 300 Euro
    44. Marco Boccato, Italy, 300 Euro
    45. Arttu Sadeharju, Finland, 300 Euro
    46. Anže Grabrijan, Slovenia, 300 Euro
    47. Nati Volpert, Israel, 300 Euro
    48. Alessandro Santu, Italy, 300 Euro
    49. Barry Foley, Ireland, 250 Euro
    50. Andrea Palazzotto, Italy, 250 Euro
    51. Nicola Galeone, Italy, 250 Euro
    52. Luca Osella, Italy, 250 Euro
    53. Renato Bortolon, Italy, 250 Euro
    54. Luciano Marsero, Italy, 200 Euro
    55. Davide Spagnoli, Italy, 200 Euro
    56. Avellino Zampieri, Italy, 200 Euro
    57. Sergio Bellini, Italy, 200 Euro
    58. John Mattsson, Sweden, 200 Euro


    Final Round 3

    Nine games round robin match play, 20 pins bonus for each win, 10 for a tie. Additional 10 pins bonus for each game over 250.


    Final Round 2

    The top 10 advance to the round robin match play.


    Final Round 1

    The top 14 advance to the second round.


    Standings after Qualifying and Desperado Squad

    The top 58 including the top 40 qualifiers, the top 12 of the squads from June 23-28 (places 41-52), the top 4 of the Turbo game (places 53-56) and the top 2 of the Desperado Squad (places 57-58) advance to the finals. The top 10 earn one bye.