Jeff Bojé to be honored with BPAA Victor Lerner Memorial Medal


    BPAA Awards

    Others to be recognized are John Losito, Bev Van Blair, John Davis and Norm Duke

    2012BPAAAwardJeffBoje.jpgThe Bowling Proprietors' Association of America (BPAA) has announced the recipients of the 2012 Bowling Industry Service Awards, the most prestigious awards presented by the bowling industry, at its Town Hall Membership Meeting at the Meritage Resort in Napa, California, Tuesday, January 24, 2012.

    Jeff Bojé (pictured left), Brandon Crossroads Bowl, Inc., Tampa, Fla., has been selected as the 2012 BPAA Hall of Fame Inductee and recipient of the Victor Lerner Memorial Medal.

    The Lerner Medal is the highest honor in the bowling business and is awarded for service over a significant period of time to the bowling industry and represents the recipient's induction into BPAA's Hall of Fame located at the International Bowling Hall of Fame and Museum in Arlington, Texas.

    Jeff Bojé is being cited for his many years of bowling center management in his centers in Florida and Missouri, outstanding service to BPAA on every volunteer level and BPAA programs and events and tournaments, as well as the bowling industry on local, state and national levels.

    His industry contributions include many years of service to the United States Bowling Congress (USBC), especially during their early years after the merger, followed by the relocation of the USBC and International Bowling Museum and Hall of Fame to the International Bowling Campus in Arlington, Texas.

    With his induction, Bojé will make history with his father, Bill - honored in 2003 - as the first father-son duo to be enshrined in the BPAA Hall of Fame.

    2012BPAAAwardJohnLosito.jpgJohn Losito (left), Sun Valley Lanes, Lincoln, Neb.,will be honored with the President's Medal for his leadership and many contributions and years of service to BPAA, especially in the area of tournaments such as Bowling's U.S. Women's Open and The International Family Tournament and North Pointe High School Championships.

    The President's Medal is given to an individual (proprietor - manager) judged to have given exceptional support and/or made significant contributions to the association in the eyes of the current BPAA president and the Awards Committee.

    2012BPAAAwardBevVanBlair.jpgBev Van Blair (right), Cardinal Lanes, Newton, Iowa, will be recognized with the BPAA Special Projects Award, presented to an individual/individuals recognizing their efforts and contributions on a particular special bowling project.

    Bev Van Blair is being cited for her initiative and continued work on Bowling's Organization for Women's Leadership (BOWL) as well as contributions on numerous projects to further opportunities for women in bowling.

    2012BPAAAwardJohnDavis.jpgJohn Davis (left), The Kegel Company, Winter Haven, Fla., will receive the coveted V. A. Wapensky Award, named after BPAA's long-time chief executive officer, "Chief" Wapensky.

    John Davis is being recognized for his innovation and contributions to improving the game and sport of bowling as well as his strong support of BPAA events over the years.

    201112PBANormDuke.jpgPBA Hall of Famer Norm Duke (right), Clermont, Fla., is being honored with the Dick Weber Bowling Ambassador Award, named after the legendary bowling icon, recognizing his many contributions to the game and sport of bowling both on and off the lanes.

    "The BPAA is proud to recognize these industry leaders," said John Snyder, BPAA president. "They have all modeled true leadership, service and dedication not only to the BPAA, but to the bowling industry and we congratulate all of them on their accomplishments and contributions."

    The awards will be presented during International Bowl Expo 2012 on Monday, June 25 (Wednesday morning, June 27, for the Lerner Memorial Medal presentation) at the Silver Legacy Resort Casino in Reno, Nevada.