Daniëlle van der Meer, Michell Stinissen win 2011-12 Dutch Bowling Tour



    Champions to represent the Netherlands at the 2012 QubicaAMF World Cup in Poland

    2012BWCNEDQMichellStinissenDaniellevanderMeer.jpg The finals of the 2011-12 Netherlands Bowling Federation Bowling Tour were held this past weekend at Claus Event Center in Hoofddorp. Daniëlle van der Meer and Michell Stinissen (r-l) won the women's and men's title in the highest division and will represent their country at the 2012 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup in Poland.

    The third edition of the NBF Bowling Tour consisted of nine tournaments. Players earned ranking points in each event based on how they finished in the event. Those points were tabulated throughout the season with the top 10 men and top 10 women advancing to the Tour finals.

    All finalists bowled nine games of round robin match play to determine the top three men and the top three women, who determined the winner in a stepladder final in best-of-three games format.

    Long-time Dutch national team member Wendy Kok earned the No. 1 seed in the women's division and had to sit and wait for the winner of the semifinal match between No. 2 Van der Meer and No. 3 Cheska Tomas.

    The match went the distance as both players were deadlocked at 1-1 and 350-350 after two games. Van der Meer advanced to the title match with a 244-223 win in the decider. Kok, the defending women's Tour champion, easily won the first game, 217-169, and was just one win away from the title. Van der Meer, who withdrew from Dutch National Team just a few months a go to take a break from bowling, leveled the match with a 234-178 win in game two and sealed the victory with a 200-179 win in the deciding third game.

    "I told myself all week long that all I needed to win was one good Sunday, and I guess I was right," the winner said. "This is amazing."

    Michell Stinissen was the top seed in the men's final and sat and the opening match in which No. 2 seed Sven Steenbekkers swept No. 3 seed Ramon Hilferink, two-games-to-none.

    Stinissen, a.k.a. "Mr. Bowling Tour" in the Netherlands as he was the only man who bowled all nine tour stops of the 2011-2012 season, fell to Steenbekkers in game one, but rebounded with back-to-back wins to wrap up the title.

    "I came up their third and second in the previous two editions and was aiming for a victory today," Stinissen said afterwards. "I am very happy to finally win it."

    The winners will represent The Netherlands in the 48th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup, which will be held from Nov. 24 to Dec. 2 in Wroclaw, Poland.


    Related Articles

    48th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup berths for Wendy Bartaire, Thierry Sacco of France
    Grishinenko, Sazonov to represent Kazakhstan in the 2012 Bowling World Cup
    Wroclaw, Poland to host 48th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
    Australia's reps decided for 2012 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup