USBC Coaching makes impact at WTBA World Championships


    USBC Coaching


    The global reach of the United States Bowling Congress Coaching Certification and Development department was on full display at the recent World Tenpin Bowling Association World Championships.

    The prestigious event, which took place Aug. 16-30 at Sunset Station's Strike Zone Bowling Center in Henderson, Nev., not only featured the sport of bowling's top players but also its top coaches.

    There were 25 active USBC certified coaches helping guide the world's best bowlers from 46 countries.

    "We have made tremendous strides over the years to spread the word about USBC Coaching and encourage more coaches to expand their skills around the world," USBC Managing Director of National Governing Body Neil Stremmel said. "To see so many USBC certified coaches working with the sport's top athletes is really encouraging."

    Of the coaches at the World Championships, five have reached Gold status, which is pinnacle level of USBC Coaching certification. Among them were Del Warren (Dominican Republic), Hank Boomershine (Korea), Rod Ross (United States) and Ron Hatfield (Ukraine).

    In addition, there were 11 Silver coaches, seven Bronze coaches and two Level I coaches at the World Championships. Also present at the World Championships were gold level coach Stephen Padilla, USA, and silver level coach Erik Garder of Norway, who worked in another position for their federation.

    "The sheer number of USBC certified coaches at the World Championships proves that USBC Coaching is recognized around the world as the top training program in the world," Stremmel said.

    "USBC has spent a lot of time and put a lot of effort into building an elite coaching certification program and it's nice to see federations around the world recognize our efforts."

    Here's a list of the coaches and the countries they were working with at the World Championships:

    Gold coaches:
    Del Warren, Dominican Republic
    Hank Boomershine, Korea
    Rod Ross, United States
    Ron Hatfield, Ukraine

    Silver coaches:
    Geoff Bowness, Australia
    Thomas Tybl, Austria
    Tim Mack, Bahrain
    Christer Backe, Denmark
    Jon Zadel, England
    Eric Courault, France
    Del Ballard Jr., Hong Kong
    Yoshiyuki Arai, Japan
    Holloway Cheah, Malaysia
    Steve Kloempken, Singapore
    Kim Terrell-Kearney, United States

    Bronze coaches:
    Tyrel Rose, Canada
    Jorge Otalora, Colombia
    Bill Hoffman, Hong Kong
    Hordur Ingi Johannsson, Iceland
    Ben Heng, Malaysia
    Randy Raldiris, Puerto Rico
    Xavier Ecoffey, Switzerland

    Level I coaches:
    Josephine Canare, Philippines
    Shawn Ryan, Thailand