Jesper Svensson wins qualifying in 2013 Qatar Bowling Open


    2013 European Bowling Tour #19

    Swedish two-hander shoots 1490 series in Squad 15 to lead a group of 43 players including three women into Tuesday's finals; Squad 17 leader Andrew Frawley moves into 3rd place; cut for 34th place is 1324 (220.67 average)


    2012BWCMarshallKent3.jpgJesper Svensson (pictured left) of Sweden averaged 248.33 on the final qualifying day of the 2013 Qatar Bowling Open in Doha to win the qualifying and top lead a group of 43 players including three women into the finals Tuesday at the Qatar Bowling Center.

    The two-handed lefty, who won the season-opening Brunswick Ballmaster Open for his first European Bowling Tour title, rolled games of 278, 213, 234, 237, 277 and 251 in Squad 15 for 1490 total to overtake previous leader Marshall Kent (right), United States, by 33 pins.

    Kent, who is also looking for his second EBT title, slipped to second place with 1457. Long-time Australian national team member and USBC silver level coach, Andrew Frawley, saved his best for the last squad (17) on Monday evening.

    2013EBT15MatthiasOlsson.jpg2013EBT14ThomasLarsen.jpgFrawley posted a 1443 series including games of 269, 182, 238, 249, 258 and 247, an average of 240.50) to jump into third place. Svensson and Frawley were the only players on Monday, who cracked the top 10 to earn a first round-bye.

    Places four to eight belonged to players from Sweden, Denmark and Finland. Mattias Olsson (left) of Sweden was 27 pins behind Frawley in fourth place with 1416, and was followed by Thomas Larsen (right; 1411) of Denmark, who won the 1st Abu Dhabi World Bowling Tour last week.

    Next were Swedes Mattias Wetterberg (1410) and Martin Larsen (1409) in sixth and seventh place, respectively, with Finnish two-hander Osku Palermaa in eighth place on 1400.

    2013EBT15TommyJones.jpg2013EBT16JennyWegner.jpg14-time PBA champion and past Player of the Year, Tommy Jones (left), United States, led the 16th squad with 1376 to finish qualifying in 13th place.

    Sweden's Isabelle Hultin and Jenny Wegner (right) were the best of ten women in the field of 118 players from 25 countries with 1330 and 1329 including eight pins handicap each game to survive the first cut in in 28th and 30th place, respectively.

    Mansoor Al-Awamy (below right) was the best Qatari in 31st place with 1326. His compatriot, Ahmed Al-Deyab, took the 34 and last spot to advance with 1324 and an average of 220.67.

    2013ABFT02MansourAlAwami2.jpgThe top 34 players will be joined in the finals by two players each from the squads on Dec. 4-6 and Ida Andersson of Sweden (266 including handicap), John Guldbæk of Denmark (256) and Marek Talpa, Czech Republic (251), who advanced from the Desperado Squad.

    Hong Kong's Michael Tsang, who finished 79th with 1239 including the lone 300 game of the qualifying, was consoled with the 1.000 Euro "Perfect Game Award".

    2013QatarOpenLogo.jpg The 13th Qatar Bowling Open is the 19th and last event of the 2013 European Bowling Tour and one of two EBT "Platinum" tournaments this season. The tournament will be held from Dec. 4-10, 2012 at 32-lane Qatar Bowling Center in Doha, Qatar.

    Players will compete for total prize fund of 120.000 Euro (approx. $163,370) with 30.000 ‚ā¨ going to the winner, 14.400 ‚ā¨ to the runner-up and 5.000 ‚ā¨ apiece to the third and fourth place finishers.

    Qualifying (6 games, unlimited re-entries) ran from Wednesday, Dec. 4 through Monday, Dec. 9. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (max. is 300), a standard on the European Bowling Tour.

    A total of 43 players - the top 34 in the overall qualifying standings, the top 2 each of the Dec. 4 squads (1 & 2), the Dec. 5 (3-5) and Dec. 6 squads (6-8), plus the top 3 of the Desperado Squad - advanced to the finals on Tuesday, Dec. 10, 2013. The top 10 qualifiers earned a first-round bye.

    The other 33 players will bowl six games scratch with the top 18 advancing to the second round. Those 18 and the 10 qualifying leaders will roll another six-game block scratch to cut to the top 4, who will advance to the semifinals.

    The No. 1 bowls No. 4 and the No. 2 bowls No. 3 with the two-game total pinfall determining the winner. The two semifinal winners advance to the championship match to bowl for the title and the 30.000 Euro top prize.

    2013EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2013 European Bowling Tour consists of 19 stops in 13 countries including two Platinum, six Gold, four Silver and seven Satellite tournaments.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. The winner of a Platinum tournament such as the Qatar Bowling Open receives 250 ranking points, the winner of a Gold tournament gets 150, the winner of a Silver tournament earns 100, and the winner of a Satellite tournament gets 50 ranking points.

    The top 12 men and the top 12 women at the end of the 2013 season qualify for the seventh EBT Masters to be held March 3, 2014 at Dolfijn Bowling in Tilburg, Netherlands immediately following the Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2014.

    WBTLogo_small.jpg The 2013 Qatar Bowling Open is also the third event of the 2014 World Bowling Tour and will award a PBA international title if won by a PBA member.

    Due to an agreement between the World Tenpin Bowling Association (WTBA) and the Professional Bowlers Association (PBA), the tournament will award a PBA international title if won by a PBA member.

    The 2014 World Bowling Tour, which got underway in November 2013 with the PBA World Championship, one of the Tour's "majors", consists of 15 tournaments in Arabia (6), Asia (3), United States (3), Europe (2) and Australia (1).

    Players earn ranking points based on how they finish in each event. The current points system is based on a continuous two-year cycle, so points include some events from 2012 and all events from 2013 in addition to the 2014 events.

    2011WTBALogo_small.jpg The top three men and top three women will be invited to compete in the 2014 World Bowling Tour Finals, which will be held in conjunction with the PBA World Series of Bowling VI in November 2014 (place and venue TBD).

    The World Tenpin Bowling Association is made up of 112 bowling federations and governs the sport throughout the world. For more information on WTBA and the World Bowling Tour, visit


    Related Articles

    Swedes Mattias Wetterberg, Martin Paulsson crack top 10 in Qatar
    Marshall Kent rises to the top in 13th Qatar Bowling Open
    Sami Lampo takes over lead in Qatar Bowling Open qualifying
    Ahmed Al-Deyab takes the early lead in EBT season-ending Qatar Bowling Open
    2013 European Bowling Tour - Schedule, Champions, Men's and Women's Ranking Winners
    2014 World Bowling Tour - Schedule & Champions


    2013 Qatar Bowling Open - Standings after Qualifying and Desperado Squad

    The top 34 qualifiers, the two players each of the Dec. 6 squads (places 35 & 36), the Dec. 5 (places 37 & 38) and Dec. 4 squads (places 39 & 40), plus the top 3 of the Desperado Squad (places 41-43) advance to the finals. The top 10 qualifiers earn a first-round bye.