Christian Birlinger sets the pace as Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open gets underway in Germany


    2014 European Bowling Tour #11

    German rolls 1292 series to lead a field of 37 players from six countries after day one qualifying

    2014EBT11ChristianBirlinger.jpgChristian Birlinger (pictured) of Germany paced the qualifying of the Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open by Erdinger after the first two squads have completed their six-game blocks Saturday at Dream-Bowl Palace in Munich, Germany.

    Birlinger rolled games of 244, 195, 215, 188, 223 and 227 in Squad 2 to lead a field of 37 players from six countries (Austria, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Poland and Ukraine) with 1292 total and an average of 215.33.

    His compatriot Christoph Schurian was 30 pins behind with 1262 and was followed by Squad 1 leader, four-time European Bowling Tour titlist Thomas Gross from Austria with 1251.

    Janusz Pietraszek, Poland, sits in fourth place on 1240. Maxime de Rooij, Germany, was the best of nine women Saturday with 1235 including 48 pins handicap, good for fifth place overall.

    Rounding out the top 6, who will receive automatic berths into the finals at the end of Squad 7, was Rene Filor, Germany, with 1226.

    Qualifying continues Sunday, July 20, with Squads 3-5 scheduled for noon, 4 and 8 p.m. CEST.

    2014EBT11DBPTrackOpenLogo_small.jpgThe 5th Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open by Erdinger is the 11th stop of the 2014 European Bowling Tour and the fourth out of six EBT "Gold" tournaments this season. The tournament will be held July 19-27 at 52-lane Dream-Bowl Palace in Unterföhring near Munich, Germany.

    The DBP Track Open offers total prize fund of 70.000 Euro with 7.000 Euro going to the winner, 5.000 to the runner-up, and 3.000 and 2.000 Euro to the third and fourth place finisher, respectively. Low to cash is 64th place for 600 Euro.

    The tournament features a 40-feet lane conditioning pattern with 24.885 ml volume oil total.

    Qualifying (six-game series, unlimited re-entries) runs from Saturday July 19, through Saturday, July 26, with the last qualifying squad 18 scheduled for 8 p.m. CEST. Qualifying concludes with the one-game Desperado Squad slated for 11.30 p.m. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game throughout the entire tournament, a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour.

    A total of 64 players will advance to the finals on Sunday, July 27 including the top 50 from the overall qualifying standings plus the top 6 from Squads 1-7, the top 4 from the Desperado Squad and the top four from a "High-Low" list (lowest and highest game added together; additional 10,-‚ā¨ per squad). The top 8 qualifiers earn two byes, while qualifiers 9-16 receive a first-round bye.

    Three four-game rounds, each starting from scratch, will trim the field to 36, 16 and then four players, who will carry forward their third-round pinfall total into the eliminator-format finals featuring three one-game rounds.

    All four players bowl the opening game, with the lowest-scoring player after five games being eliminated. In the two rounds to follow, the same "low man out" format applies. The last man standing will be declared the champion.

    2014EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2014 European Bowling Tour features 20 tournaments in 14 countries. In its 15th season, the EBT consists of two Platinum, six Gold, three Silver and nine Satellite tournaments. The total prize fund exceeds one million Euro.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will compete in the eighth EBT Masters July 6, 2015 at Bowling Chamartín in Madrid, Spain, immediately following the III Brunswick Madrid Challenge.



    Related Articles

    2014 European Bowling Tour - Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2014 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women



    Dream-Bowl Palace Open - Qualifying Standings after Squad 2/18