Top 6 after Tuesday's Squad 4 secure spots for finals in Chandra Open 2014


    2014 European Bowling Tour #14

    Squad leaders Dirk Dreyer (GER), Lisanne Breeschoten (NED), Tanner Spacey (USA) move into the top 6; Jeroen van Geel (NED) holds on to the lead with 1411; score to make the cut in 30th place is 1198 (199.67)

    Image2013EBT18JeroenvanGeel.jpgBy virtue of moving into the top six of the standings after the first four squads in the Chandra Open 2014 Dirk Dreyer (pictured left) of Germany, Dutch international Lisanne Breeschoten and USA's Tanner Spacey secured their spots in Sunday's finals.

    The trio led Squad 4 on Tuesday evening at Chandra Bowling in Nieuwegein, Netherlands, to leap into second, fourth and fifth place, respectively, in the overall qualifying standings.

    Jeroen van Geel (right), Netherlands, who had 1411, an average of 235.17, in the very first squad, continued to lead the field of 78 bowlers from Belgium, Germany, Netherlands and the United States.

    2014EBT14PriscillaMaaswinkel.jpg2014EBT03LisanneBreeschooten2.jpgDreyer used six games between 204 and 244 to lead Squad 4 and to overtake second place with 1369 (228.17). Priscilla Maaswinkel (left) slipped to third place with 1368 including eight pins women's handicap each game. She is the best of 10 women in the field.

    Her fellow former national team member Breeschoten  (right) leaped into fourth place with 1349 and was followed by Spacey, who finished his 1338 series with 258. Rounding out the top 6 was Jimmy Ravez of Belgium with 1324.

    If any of the above finish in the top 30 in the overall qualifying standings, the automatic spot goes to the next Squad 1-4 qualifier in order.

    2014EBT14MarkJacobs.jpgRounding out the top 8, who will receive a first-round bye for the finals at the end of the qualifying, were Mark Jacobs (left), Netherlands, and Xavier Milet, Belgium, with 1298 and 1289, resp.

    With four of thirteen qualifying spots in the books, Dennis Knijff, Netherlands, holds the 30th and last place to qualify directly for the finals with 1198 and an average of 199.67.

    Squads 5 and 6 will not be played. Qualifying commences on Thursday, September 18, with Squad 7 scheduled to start at 8 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).

    The Chandra Open 2014 is the 14th stop of the 2014 European Bowling Tour and the sixth out of nine EBT "Satellite" tournaments this season. The tournament runs from Sept. 14-21 at 16-lane Chandra Bowling in Nieuwegein, Netherlands.

    The Chandra Open offers total prize fund of 25.600 Euro with 5.000 Euro going to the winner and 3.000 Euro to the runner-up, while the third and fourth place finishers will receive 2.000 Euro and 1.000, respectively. Final cash spot is 40th place worth 300 Euro.

    The Chandra Open features a 38 feet lane conditioning pattern with 26.45ml volume oil total.

    Qualifying (six-game series, unlimited re-entries) runs from Sunday, Sept. 14, through Saturday, Sept. 20, with the final Squad 13 scheduled for 6 p.m., and concludes with the Desperado Squad slated for 9.30 p.m.

    Women receive 8 pins handicap each game throughout the entire tournament, an equality handicap provided to women in all European Bowling Tour events.

    Total of 40 players will advance to the finals on Sunday, Sept. 21, including the top 30 from the overall qualifying standings, the top 6 of a separate leader board of Squads 1-4 (Sept. 14-16), and the top 4 of the one-game Desperado Squad. The top 8 qualifiers receive a first-round bye.

    The remaining 32 players bowl four games starting from scratch with half of the field advancing to the second round. The top 16 from Round One and the top eight qualifiers bowl another four-game round starting from scratch to cut to the top 12.

    Those twelve bowl six games with the pinfall from Round Two being carried forward. The player with the highest 10-game total including handicap becomes the champion.

    2014EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2014 European Bowling Tour features 20 tournaments in 14 countries. In its 15th season, the EBT consists of two Platinum, six Gold, three Silver and nine Satellite tournaments. The total prize fund exceeds one million Euro.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will compete in the eighth EBT Masters July 6, 2015 at Bowling Chamartín in Madrid, Spain, immediately following the III Brunswick Madrid Challenge.



    Related Articles

    Three players crack the top 8 in Squad 3 at Chandra Open 2014
    Jeroen van Geel, Priscilla Maaswinkel take early lead in Chandra Open 2014
    2014 European Bowling Tour - Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2014 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women



    Chandra Open 2014 - Standings after Qualifying Squad 4/13

    Top 30 qualifiers plus the top 6 of a separate leader board of Squads 1-4 and the top 4 of the Desperado Squad will advance to Sunday's finals. Top 8 qualifiers receive a first-round bye.