24th edition of the Malta Open Championships gets underway on Wednesday



    Bowling fans will be able to watch wire-to-wire live streaming coverage including virtual studio interviews free of charge

    2015MaltaOpenLogo.jpg The 24th edition of the Malta Open Championships will be held from June 17-21 at 20-lane Eden Super Bowl located at St. George's Bay in St. Julian's, Malta. Players will compete for total prize money of minimum 10.000 Euro increasing to € 15.000 in case of more than 150 participants.

    The tournaments will pay a 1.800 to 2.600 Euro first prize and a 36th-place prize list (75 to 120 Euro last-to-cash). Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300).

    The 24th Malta Open will be played on the 40-foot Kegel Bourbon Street lane conditioning pattern with 23.45 mL volume oil total.

    Qualifying (12 games, split into two blocks of six games; six-game re-entries in order to replace the lower of the initial two series; the higher must be retained) gets underway Wednesday, June 17, with Squad 3 (Squas, 1, 2 and 4 have been canceled) at 5 p.m. Central European Summer Time and runs through Saturday, June 20, with the final Desperado Squad scheduled for 7.30 p.m. CEST.

    Total 36 players will qualify for the finals - the top 28 players from the overall qualifying standings, the top four Turbo qualifiers and the top 4 of the Desperado Squad. The Turbo qualifiers are the players with the highest game, including women's bonus, within any six-game series (extra entry fee required).

    The six qualifiers will earn two byes, while qualifiers 7-12 will receive a first-round bye. The remaining 24 players advance to the first round to bowl four games from scratch. The top 12 will advance to the second round also featuring four games from scratch.

    The top 10 (seeded 7th to 16th) will meet the top six qualifiers (seeded 1st to 6th) in the first of four Knock-Out rounds consisting of two games with the highest pinfall including bonus advancing. In each round, the highest-seeded player bowls the lowest-seeded player, the second-highest bowls the second-lowest, and so on.

    The field will be trimmed to eight, four and then two players who will determine the 2015 Malta Open champion.

    BowlingdigitalBanner.gif In cooperation with Bowlingdigital's Flavio Cuva, Beat Grauwiler and Talktenpin's Dom Gall, the 24th Malta Open Championships will be streamed live in its entirety on Dutch Bowling TV, enabling bowling fans to watch all the action from Eden Super Bowl from start to finish free of charge. No subscription necessary.

    DutchBowlingTVLogo.jpg In addition to wire-to-wire coverage of the event, virtual studio interviews will be broadcast with all squad winners and various bowlers that are available during each day. To watch the live stream, click here.

    Live streaming, sponsored by QubicaAMF, will start at 5 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST) on Wednesday, June 17, and will conclude with the championship match slated for 4 p.m. on Sunday, June 21.