Ghislaine Stigter-van der Tol takes early lead in Chandra Open 2015


    2015 European Bowling Tour #13

    2015EBT13GhislaineStigterVanderTol.jpgGhislaine Stigter-van der Tol (pictured left) posted a 1419 six-game series in the opening squad to take the early lead in the Chandra Open 2015 which got underway Sunday at Chandra Bowling in Nieuwegein, Netherlands.

    Van der Tol, one of only two women who have won three European Bowling Tour titles (Zara Glover, England, is the other) rolled games of 246, 264, 255, 210, 229 and 167 for 1371 scratch, an average of 228.50, and added 48 pins handicap to earning bragging rights as the early tournament leader by eight pins over Jimmy Ravez.

    The Belgian was the second player who surpassed the 1400-mark with 1411 and the field-best 235.17 average. Ravez had six consistently high games between 223 and 258. No other of the 31 players from three countries (Belgium, France and Netherlands) cracked the 1300-bar.

    Ton Plummen, Netherlands, was next with 1293, with his compatriot and Jeffrey van de Wakker a distant fourth with 1229.

    Rounding out the top 6 were two women, Laurene Bouillier of France and Simone Boonstra, Netherlands, with 1205 and 1199, respectively.

    Qualifying commences on Monday, September 14, with Squad 2 scheduled to start at 8 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).

    The Chandra Open 2015 is the 13th stop of the 2014 European Bowling Tour and the sixth out of seven EBT "Satellite" tournaments this season. The tournament runs from Sept. 13-20 at 16-lane Chandra Bowling in Nieuwegein, Netherlands.

    This year's edition offers total prize fund of 25.600 Euro with 5.000 Euro going to the winner and 3.000 Euro to the runner-up, while the third and fourth place finishers will receive 2.000 Euro and 1.000, respectively. Final cash spot is 40th place worth 300 Euro.

     The Chandra Open features a 42 feet lane conditioning pattern with 28.65ml volume oil total.

    Qualifying (six-game series, unlimited re-entries) runs from Sunday, Sept. 13, through Saturday, Sept. 19, with the final Squad 9 scheduled for 6 p.m. and concludes with the Desperado Squad slated for 9.30 p.m.

    Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum is 300) throughout the entire tournament, an equality handicap provided to women in all European Bowling Tour events.

    Total of 40 players will advance to the finals on Sunday, Sept. 20, including the top 30 from the overall qualifying standings, the top 6 of a separate leader board of Squads 1-4 (Sept. 13-17), and the top 4 of the one-game Desperado Squad. The top 8 qualifiers will receive a first-round bye.

    The remaining 32 players bowl four games starting from scratch with half of the field advancing to the second round. The top 16 from Round One and the top eight qualifiers bowl another four-game round starting from scratch. The top 12 will carry over their four-game total into the final six-game round. The player with the highest 10-game total including handicap will earn the title and the 5.000 Euro top prize.

    2015EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2015 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 16 tournaments in 12 countries featuring three "Platinum" events, three "Gold", three "Silver" and seven "Satellite" events. All 16 tournaments together offer total prize fund of 850.000 Euro.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will compete in the 9th EBT Masters July 25, 2016 at Rose'n Bowl in Serravalle, San Marino following the 12th San Marino Open.


    Related Articles

    Chandra Open 2015 - Tournament Preview
    Paul Moor wins record 14th European Bowling Tour title in Chandra Open 2014
    2015 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2015 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women


    Chandra Open 2015 - Standings after Qualifying Squad 1/9

    Top 30 qualifiers plus the top 6 of a separate leader board of Squads 1-4 (places 31-36) and the top 4 of the Desperado Squad (places 37-40) will advance to Sunday's finals. Top 8 qualifiers receive a first-round bye.