Twelve bowlers to Doha Asian Games



    Republished courtesy of (Sept. 18, 2006)

    2006AsianGamesLogo.jpg The Malaysian Tenpin Bowling Congress (MTBC), Monday announced the final name list of bowlers who will represent Malaysia at the Doha Asian Games in December.

    "The MTBC's Selection Committee, which meets over the weekend has decided the final name list for the Doha Asian Games after debating the pros and cons of the players recommended by the national coaches.

    "The committee unanimously agreed upon six men's and six women's team," said MTBC's secretary general Sidney Tung in a statement Monday.

    2006MWCMalaysia.jpg The six men's team are Aaron Kong, Alex Liew, Azidi Ameran, Ben Heng, Daniel Lim and Zulmazran Zulkifli. They were selected based on their performance by winning a silver and a bronze medal at the World Men's Championships in Busan, early this month (pictured).

    While the women's team comprises Choy Poh Lai, Esther Cheah, Shalin Zulkifli, Sharon Koh, Wendy Chai and Zandra Aziela Ibrahim Hakimi. The women's team chosen were the same squad, except Sharon, which represented Malaysia to the World Women's Championship in Denmark last year.

    Sidney noted that Sharon was replacing Lai Kin Ngoh who had migrated to Hong Kong.

    "Kin Ngoh was recalled to join the squad earlier but then was excluded (from the squad) after she had informed MTBC that she would not come back on time for the centralised training," said Sidney.

    He noted that Sharon was chosen to replace Kin Ngoh based on her outstanding performances throughout the year by winning the National Championship in January, and the World Youth Championship Masters Gold and Team bronze medal in July and August.

    However, the squad that was selected for the Doha Asian Games will not be representing Malaysia at the annual AMF World Cup in Venezuela in November.

    "The MTBC Selection Committee has also decided that Malaysia's representatives for the annual AMF World Cup in Venezuela in November this year, will not come from the above Elite (squad) because it is too close to the Doha Asian Games," said Sidney.

    On the other hand, Adrian Ang, the youngest member of the Elite squad and reigning national champion, will represent Malaysia in Venezuela in the men's division, while for the women's division it will be decided from the results of a 48 games roll-off among Siti Safiyah Amirah, Zatil Iman and Nor Sakirah Yeoh. The roll-off will be held in two different centres over six-days of eight games block on different lane oiling condition after returning from Taiwan end of this month.

    "The Doha-bound squad will attend a special motivation camp in Kuching under mental trainer Fred Tan from Sept 20 to 24. Upon returning from Kuching, they will be given a few days off to gear themselves for the intensive centralised training starting early October right up to departure for Doha," added Sidney.