Markus Jansson cracks 1400-bar at San Marino Open


    2016 European Bowling Tour #9



    2016EBT09AlessandroSantu2.jpg 2016EBT09MarcoReviglio2.jpg Markus Jansson (pictured above) of Sweden became the first player at the 12th Storm San Marino Open who cracked the 1400-bar as he averaged 242.33 in squad 5 on Monday afternoon at Rose'n Bowl in Serravalle, San Marino, to take the overall qualifying lead with 1454.

    The World Youth champion in Doubles, who has won his first European Bowling Tour title last season at the 2015 Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament, had games of 228, 265, 234, 246, 256 and 225 to overtake previous leader Alessandro Santu (left) of Italy by 60 pins.

    Santu slipped to second place with 1394 and was followed by his fellow countrymen Marco Reviglio (above right) in third place with 1386 and Andrea Mangiacotti in fourth place with 1358.

    2015EBT11FrancoisSacco.jpg 2014EBT10FedericoRossi.jpg Serge Frouvelle of France, who won his lone EBT title in the 2014 Florence International, slipped to fifth place with 1342.

    Francois Sacco (left) of France and Federico Rossi (right) of Italy were second and third in squad 5 with 1311 and 1308, respectively, to leap into sixth and seventh place in the qualifying standings.

    The top 3 from the squads conducted on July 11-12 (squad 5-8) will be automatically qualified for the finals if they don't finish among the top 35 in the overall qualifying standings.

    2016EBT09MattiasJansson.jpgMarkus' younger brother Mattias Jansson (right) averaged 214.50 to lead the second squad on Monday (#6) with 1287, including a high game of 266, good for 9th place overall. Francois' wife Isabelle Sacco is the best of five women in the 80-player field from 10 countries in 15th place with 1251, including handicap.

    With six of 20 squads in the books, Sergio Fabbietti of Italy holds the 35th and last place to advance from the overall standings with 1177, an average of 196.17. Qualifying continues Tuesday, July 12, with Squads 7 & 8 scheduled to start at 4 and 8 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).

    2016EBT09SanMarinoOpenLogo_small.jpg The Storm San Marino Open is the 9th stop of the 2016 European Bowling Tour and the first out of three EBT "Gold" tournaments this season. The 12th edition will be held July 9-17 at 18-lane Rose'n Bowl in Serravalle, San Marino and offers total prize fund of 62.050 Euro with 8.000 Euro going to the winner, 5.000 to the runner-up, 3.300 to the third and 2.400 to the fourth place finisher.

    Qualifying of the San Marino Open (six-game series, unlimited re-entries) runs from Saturday, July 9, through Saturday, July 17, with the last qualifying squad 20 scheduled for 7 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST). The qualifying winner will receive a 1.000 Euro bonus.

    Qualifying concludes with the one-game Desperado Squad scheduled to start at 10 p.m. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum is 300) throughout the entire tournament, a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour. The top three women based on the final standings will receive 500, 350 and 200 Euro bonuses, respectively.

    Total 48 players will advance to the finals on Sunday, July 19, including the top 35 qualifiers plus the top 3 from the squads conducted on July 9-10, the top 3 from the squads conducted on July 11-12, the top 4 from the squads conducted on July 13-14, and the top 3 from the Desperado Squad.

    The top 8 qualifiers receive two byes and qualifiers 9-16 get a first-round bye. The other 32 players will bowl four games from scratch to cut to the top 16, who will meet qualifiers 9-16 in the second round. Those 24 bowl another four games from scratch to cut to the top 10, who will join the top eight in a six-game round before the cut to the top 4.

    The four finalists will determine the winner in an eliminator-format finals which will feature three one-game rounds. All four players bowl the opening game, with the lowest-scoring player being eliminated. In the two rounds to follow, the same "low man out" format applies, with pinfall carrying over. The last man standing will be declared the champion.

    Immediately following the 12th San Marino Open is the 9th European Bowling Tour Masters, which will be contested on Monday, July 18, at Rose'n Bowl in Serravalle, San Marino.

    2016EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2016 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 16 tournaments in 11 countries featuring three "Platinum" events, three "Gold", four "Silver" and six "Satellite" events. All tournaments together offer total prize fund of roughly 850.000 Euro.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will be eligible to compete in the 10th EBT Masters May 29, 2017, at Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark.


    Related Articles

    Alessandro Santu leads Storm San Marino Open after four squads
    Andrea Mangiacotti sets the pace at Storm San Marino Open
    12th Storm San Marino Open - Tournament Preview
    Dom Barrett defeats Jesper Svensson to successfully defend his title in San Marino
    2016 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2016 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women


    12th Storm San Marino Open - Qualifying Standings after Squad 6/20

    Top 35 qualifiers plus the top 3 from the squads conducted on July 9-10, the top 3 from the squads conducted on July 11-12, the top 4 from the squads conducted on July 13-14, and the top 3 from the Desperado Squad will advance to the finals.