Malaysia's Ahmad Muaz shoots into lead at Track Open


    2016 European Bowling Tour #10

    European Bowling Tour women's Masters champion Sin Li Jane, Malaysia, and Swede Markus Jansson also crack the 1300-bar



    2016EBT09SinLiJane2.jpg Malaysians Ahmad Muaz, Sin Li Jane and Markus Jansson of Sweden became the first players in the 7th Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open by Erdinger who surpassed the 1300-mark in Tuesday evening's squad 7 at Dream-Bowl Palace in Munich, Germany.

    Muaz (pictured above) came out of the gates commandingly with games of 267 and 266 and closed his six-game series with 206, 235, 192 and 191 to overtake the lead of the 86-player field from eight countries with 1357 and an average of 226.17.

    Fresh off her victory in the 2016 European Bowling Tour Women's Masters and a second-place finish in the 12th Storm San Marino Open, Sin Li averaged 209.33 for 1256 pinfall and added 48 pins handicap to move into second place in the qualifying standings with 1304.

    2016EBT09MarkusJansson2.jpg 2016EBT10TobiasBording2.jpg Jansson (left), who won his lone EBT title in the Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2015 was mere two pins behind with 1301, including games of 205, 223, 211, 207, 211 and 245, to leap into third place. The reigning World Youth champion in Doubles is the only player so far who managed six games over 200.

    Tobias Börding (right) of Germany, who led the field since squad 2, with 1299, slipped to fourth place and was followed by tournament organizer, Manuel Mrosek (below left), also with 1299, but the lower five-game series.

    By virtue of finishing squads 1-7 in first through fourth place, Muaz, Sin Li, Jansson and Börding will be automatically qualified for the finals if they don't finish among the top 50 in the overall qualifying standings. If any of the four will finish in the top 50, the automatic spot goes to the next qualifier in order.

    2016EBT10ManuelMrosek.jpg 2015EBT14FrancoisLouw.jpg Francois Louw (right) of South Africa led squad 6 on Monday with 1251 and improved by 42 pins in squad 7 to take sixth place overall with 1293 total.

    Jaroslav Lorenc, Czech Republic, currently holds the 50th and last place to advance from the qualifying with 1109 and an average of 184.83.

    Qualifying continues Wednesday, July 20, with squads 8 & 9 scheduled to start at 3 and 7 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).

    2015TrackDBPOpenLogo_small.jpg The 7th Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open by Erdinger is the 10th stop of the 2016 European Bowling Tour and the second out of three EBT "Gold" tournaments this season. The tournament will be held July 16-24 at 52-lane Dream-Bowl Palace in Unterföhring near Munich, Germany.

    The Track DBP Open offers total prize fund of 60.000 Euro with 5.000 Euro going to the winner, 3.500 to the runner-up, and 2.500 and 2.000 Euro to the third and fourth place finisher, respectively. Final cash spot is 64th place to pay 500 Euro.

    Qualifying (six-game series, unlimited re-entries) runs from Saturday July 16, through Saturday, July 23, with the last qualifying squad 18 scheduled for 8 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST). Each of the 18 squad winners receives a 300 bonus.

    Qualifying concludes with the one-game Desperado Squad slated for 11.30 p.m. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum is 300) throughout the entire tournament, an equality handicap provided to women in all EBT events.

    Total 64 players will advance to the finals on Sunday, July 24, including the top 50 from the overall qualifying standings plus top 4 of squads 1-7, leader of squads 8-9, leader of squads 10-11, top 4 from a "High-Low" list (two-game total of lowest and highest game; additional 10 Euro per squad) and top 4 from the Desperado Squad.

    The top 8 qualifiers earn two byes moving them into the Round of 16, while qualifiers 9-16 receive a first-round bye having to compete in the Round of 36.

    The finals will kick off with three four-game rounds, each beginning from scratch, which will trim the field to 36, 16 and then four players. Those four will carry over their pinfall total into the eliminator-format finals featuring three one-game rounds.

    All four players bowl the opening game, with the lowest-scoring player after five games being eliminated. In the two rounds to follow, the same "low man out" format applies, with pinfall carrying over. The last man standing will be declared the champion.

    2016EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2016 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 16 tournaments in 11 countries featuring three "Platinum" events, three "Gold", four "Silver" and six "Satellite" events. All tournaments together offer total prize fund of roughly 850.000 Euro.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will be eligible to compete in the 10th EBT Masters May 29, 2017, at Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark.


    Related Articles

    Sabrina Laub, Michael Loos move into top 4 at Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open
    Tobias Börding first leader at Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open
    7th Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open by Erdinger - Tournament Preview
    Richard Teece wins his first career EBT title in 6th Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open by Erdinger
    2016 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2016 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women


    2016 Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open - Qualifying Standings after Squad 7/18

    64 players, including the top 50 from the overall qualifying standings plus top 4 of squads 1-7, leader of squads 8-9, leader of squads 10-11, top 4 from a "High-Low" list and top 4 from the Desperado Squad, will advance to the finals on Sunday, July 24