Aviram and Mizrachi repeat as Israel's National Champions



    Both will represent Israel at the 32nd European Championship Cup on Crete, Greece

    2009ISRNCOrAviramSaritMizrachi.jpgFor the second year in a row, Or Aviram and Sarit Mizrachi (l-r) won the men's and women's individual title at the 2009 Israeli National Championship Friday, July 10th, at the National Bowling Center", a 24-laner in Netaneya.

    48 players from all over the country participated in the 2009 Championship. After 20 games on short and long oil the top 8 men and top 8 women determined the champions in best-of-three games single-elimination finals.

    In the quarterfinals Mizrachi defeated Danit Bachar, 2:1, then Sara Aviram, 2:0, in the semis and swept Tali Itzhak, two-games-to none (202-159 and 202-194) to retain the title.

    Aviram went the distance in all three of his matches. He topped Oren Ohayun in quarterfinals, 2:1, and went on to defeat Moshe Shinman, 2:1, in the semis. In the championship match against Israel Taner, Aviram won the first game, 210-172, then Taner leveled the match, 204-227, but Aviram won the decider, 218-172, and claimed the title.

    Both champions, who are also leading the National Ranking List a.k.a. "Fisher ranking list", will represent Israel in the 32nd European Championship Cup to be held from September 21-28 at Mega Place Bowling Club in Chania, Crete, Greece. Aviram won the men's ECC title in 2006.