BPAA announces 2010 Industry Service Awards


    BPAA Awards

    Ted Hoffman Jr. to receive Victor Lerner Memorial Medal and BPAA Hall of Fame Induction

    2010BPAALogo.jpgThe Bowling Proprietors' Association of America (BPAA) announced the recipients of the 2010 Bowling Industry Service Awards, the most prestigious awards presented by the bowling industry, at its recent Town Hall Membership Meeting held in Arlington, Texas on Tuesday, January 26.

    Ted Hoffman, Jr. (Dublin, CA) has been selected as the 2010 BPAA Hall of Fame Inductee and recipient of the Victor Lerner Memorial Medal. The Lerner Medal is the highest honor in the bowling business and is awarded for a lifetime of service to the bowling industry and represents the recipient's induction into BPAA's Hall of Fame located at the International Bowling Hall of Fame and Museum in Arlington, Texas.

    Mr. Hoffman is cited for his 30-plus years of bowling management and service to BPAA and the bowling industry on local, state and national levels. His contributions include several years on BPAA's Board, working as a PBA regional director for 30 years and a mainstay on BPAA's Tournament Committee since the late 80s.

    Tom Martino, (Hopelawn, N.J.) will be recognized with the President's Medal for his many contributions to BPAA and years of service to the East Coast Bowling Centers Convention. The President's Medal is given to an individual (proprietor – manager) judged to have given exceptional support and/or made significant contributions to the association in the eyes of the current BPAA president and the Awards Committee.

    Roger Dalkin, (Greendale, Wis.) will receive the coveted V. A. Wapensky Award, named after BPAA's long time Chief Executive Officer, "Chief" Wapensky. Mr. Dalkin is being recognized for his many contributions to the bowling industry through his service to bowling's governing organizations as well as his role in the merger that yielded the birth of the United States Bowling Congress.

    BPAA's 2007 Dick Weber Bowling Ambassador Award, named after the legendary bowling icon, will be presented to Johnny Petraglia (Jackson, N.J.) recognizing his contributions to the game and sport of bowling. The Dick Weber Bowling Ambassador Award is given to a professional or amateur bowling athlete who has demonstrated Mr. Weber's grace on and off the lanes.

    The Ruben A. Dankoff Award for Public Policy and Legislative Service will be presented to Bob Stubler (Peru, Ill.) for his successful Illinois "Slip and Fall" legislation that other states are using as their model to pursue similar legislation. This award is presented to a proprietor or bowling industry leader who, or a proprietor organization which, provides outstanding voluntary service on the Federal, state or local governmental levels in the development of legislation, public policy initiatives, or other political efforts, which benefits BPAA members, the BPAA itself or the bowling industry as a whole.

    Dan Labrecque, (Battle Creek, Mich.) will receive BPAA's 2010 Special Projects Award for his successful "Michigan Works" program for unemployed workers.

    The awards will be presented during International Bowl Expo 2010 on Monday, June 28 (Wednesday morning, June 30 for the Lerner Memorial Medal presentation) at the Las Vegas Hilton in Las Vegas, Nev.

    "This is a very distinguished group of 2010 award recipients," said Jim Sturm, BPAA president. "Every one of these deserving recipients exemplifies leadership, service and dedication. We congratulate all of them on their accomplishments and contributions to BPAA and the bowling industry."