Field set for bowling competition at IX World Games in Cali, Colombia


    2013 World Games

    July 25 to Aug. 4, 2013 (bowling competition Aug. 1-4)

    2013WorldGamesLogo.jpg With the conclusion of the European Champions Cup in The Netherlands, the field is set for the bowling competition of the IX World Games July 25 to Aug. 4, 2013 in Cali, Colombia.

    The World Games are an international multi-sport event, meant for sports, or disciplines or events within a sport, which are not contested in the Olympic Games. The World Games are organized and governed by the International World Games Association (IWGA), under the patronage of the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

    Each of the three zones of the World Tenpin Bowling Association (WTBA) had its own qualifying event to determine eight countries each which will send one male and one female bowler to the bowling competition of the IX World Games, which will be held from Aug 1-4.

    The Pan American Bowling Confederation determined its qualifiers at the 2012 PABCON Champion of Champions Tournament May 8 to 12, 2012 at the Kegel Training Center in Lake Wales, Fla., United States, with the top eight teams, including host Colombia, in the national all-events advancing. The advancing teams were: United States, Puerto Rico, Canada, Venezuela, Mexico, Brazil, Guatemala, and Dominican Republic.

    The 22nd Asian Tenpin Bowling Championships Sept. 2 to 11, 2012 at Hong Kong Bowling City in Hong Kong, China served as the qualifier for the Asian Bowling Federation (ABF) with the top eight countries with the highest All Events total of the top five men plus the top five women advancing. The eight qualifiers were: Korea, Malaysia, Singapore, Japan, Australia, Hong Kong, Chinese Taipei, and China.

    The eight spots of the European Tenpin Bowling Federation (ETBF) were at stakes at the 35th European Champions Cup Oct. 15-22, 2012 at bowling center Dekker in Zoetermeer, Netherlands. The final standings of the man and woman from each country were accumulated and the eight countries with the lowest totals qualified for the World Games. The eight qualifiers were: Sweden, Germany, Finland, Ukraine, Norway, Italy, France, and England.

    Tenpin Bowling has been part of all eight previous World Games:
    1981 Santa Clara, California United States
    1985 London, England
    1989 Karlsruhe, Germany
    1993 The Hague, Netherlands
    1997 Lahti, Finland
    2001 Akita, Japan
    2005 Duisburg, Germany
    2009 Kaohsiung, Republic of China (Taiwan)

    2012IWGALogo.jpg The World Games 2013 were originally scheduled to be held in the cities of Duisburg and DĂĽsseldorf of Germany. However, at the end of 2008, Duisburg withdrew and DĂĽsseldorf dropped out as well.

    Two cities were bidding for the reassignment of the Games: Pretoria, South Africa and Cali, Colombia. During the World Games 2009 in Kaohsiung, Taiwan, the International World Games Association (IWGA) announced that Cali, Colombia was awarded the right to host the World Games in 2013.

    There will be 32 official sports and 4 invitational sports:

    Artistic and Dance Sports
    acrobatic gymnastics, aerobic gymnastics, artistic roller skating, dancesport, rhythmic gymnastics, trampoline & tumbling

    Ball Sports
    beach handball, canoe polo, fistball, korfball, racquetball, rugby sevens, softball, squash

    Martial Arts
    ju-jitsu, karate, sumo

    Precision Sports
    billiards, boules, bowling, field archery

    Strength Sports
    powerlifting, tug of war

    Trend Sports
    air sports, finswimming, flying disc, inline hockey, inline speed skating, lifesaving, orienteering, sport climbing, waterskiing

    Invitational Sports
    duathlon, canoe marathon, road roller skating, wushu

    The 2017 World Games were awarded to Wrocław, Poland.