Shayna Ng climbs the ladder to win women's title at 48th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup


    2012 BWC

    Singaporean beats No. 2 Kirsten Penny (ENG) and two-time defending champion Aumi Guerra (DOM) in come-from-behind victory



    2012BWCChampionShaynaNg2.jpgShayna Ng of Singapore, seeded third, defeated top seeded Aumi Guerra of the Dominican Republic, two-games-to-one, to capture the women's title at 48th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup Saturday, Dec. 1, at Sky Bowling Center in Wroclaw, Poland.

    2012BWCKirstenPenny.jpgNg (pictured left), who led the 69-player field in qualifying and the Round of 24, slipped to third place in round robin match play despite having the highest average of 231.22 for 36 games.

    In the opening match of the three-player stepladder finals, Ng met Kirsten Penny of England (right), who was in second place in all six rounds of the competition and finished match play just one pin ahead of the Singaporean with 230.42 average but a 5-3 won-loss record compared to Ng's 4-4 (30 pins bonus per win).

    2012BWCAumiGuerra2.jpgIn best-of-three games format, Ng swept Penny, 2-0, winning the first two games 246-215 and 231-191, to set up a title match with two-time defending champion Guerra, who was targeting to become the first women to win three title and the first player ever in the 48-year World Cup history to win three time in a row.

    Guerra (left) took a 1-0 lead after the first game, 269-224, and was one win away from the three-peat. She followed the 269 with a 257 in game two, but Ng beat her by eight pins with 267 to level the match.

    The Singaporean carried the momentum into the decider and defeated Guerra, 247-169, to wrap up the title. It was the second gold medal for Singapore in the World Cup after Jasmine Yeong-Nathan's victory in the 44th edition in Hermosillo, Mexico, in the year 2008.

    For more photos, go to Bowlingdigital's Photo Album (© Bowlingdigital/Beat Grauwiler).

    2012BWCLogo_small.jpg The 2012 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup was held from Nov. 26 to Dec 1 at 24-lane Sky Bowling Center in Wroclaw, Poland. It marked the first time since its inception in 1965 in Dublin, Ireland that the BWC visits Poland.

    151 players, 82 men and 69 women, representing 84 countries participated in the 48th edition of the event. The men were split into three squads (A, B and C) while the women's division featured two squads (A and B).

    All players bowled four five-game blocks of qualifying over four days beginning Monday, Nov. 26. After 20 games, the field was cut to the top 24 for eight additional games on Friday, Nov. 30.

    The top eight men and the top 8 women after 28 games advanced to eight games round robin match play Saturday morning, Dec. 1, where the field was paired down to the top three for the stepladder finals.


    Related Articles

    Marshall Kent widens his lead in Men's Round of 24 at 48th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
    Shayna Ng refuses to fall in Round of 24 at 48th Bowling World Cup
    Marshall Kent top qualifier in Men's Division at 48th Bowling World Cup
    Shayna Ng wins women's qualifying at 48th World Cup
    Marshall Kent moves into top qualifying position at 48th World Cup
    Shayna Ng averages 250 in round 3 qualifying to take over pole position in World Cup
    James Gruffman takes over lead in men's division after 10 of 20 qualifying games
    Aumi Guerra maintains lead in women's division as qualifying reaches halfway mark
    Mykhaylo Kalika sets the tone in men's qualifying at 48th Bowling World Cup
    Aumi Guerra in familiar place after first qualifying block at 48th Bowling World Cup
    48th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup is underway in Poland


    48th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup - Women's Stepladder Finals

    Sky Bowling Center in Wroclaw, Poland (Dec. 1, 2012)

    Championship Round:
    1. Shayna Ng, Singapore, 1215 (5 games)
    2. Aumi Guerra, Dominican Republic, 697 (3 games)
    3. Kirsten Penny, England, 406 (2 games)

    Playoff Results:
    Semifinal Match: #3 Ng def. #2 Penny, 2-0
    (246-215, 231-191)
    Championship: Ng def. #1 Guerra, 2-1
    (224-269, 267-259, 247-169)


    Women's Round of 8

    The top 3 advance to the stepladder finals.


    48th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup - Women's Final Standings

    1. Shayna Ng, Singapore
    2. Aumi Guerra, Dominican Republic
    3. Kirsten Penny, England
    4. Danielle McEwan, United States
    5. Sin Li Jane, Malaysia
    6. Janine Gabel, Germany
    7. Krista Pöllänen, Finland
    8. Rebecka Larsen, Sweden
    9. Heidi Thorstensen, Norway
    10. Daniëlle van der Meer, Netherlands
    11. Alena Korobkova, Russia
    12. Patricia de Faria, Venezuela
    13. Lilia Robles, Mexico
    14. Krizziah Lyn Tabora, Philippines
    15. Ann-Maree Putney, Australia
    16. Milki Ng, Hong Kong
    17. Melonie Lister, New Zealand
    18. Katrien Goossens, Belgium
    19. Helga Di Benedetto, Italy
    20. Viviana Delgado, Costa Rica
    21. Edith Quintanilla, El Salvador
    22. Blanka Hanusikova, Czech Republic
    23. Tali Itzhak, Israel
    24. Wendy Bartaire, France
    25. Martha Karatzoula, Greece
    26. Myria Kastori, Cyprus
    27. Angie Hartley, South Africa
    28. Olena Mishchenko, Ukraine
    29. Felicia Wong, Canada
    30. Holly Fleming, Scotland
    31. Adile Michajlow, Turkey
    32. Menatallah Sultan, Egypt
    33. Yuka Ooshima, Japan
    34. Aimee Kellegher, Ireland
    35. Julia Lam, Macau
    36. Baiba Baltmane, Latvia
    37. Cristina Mas Lazaro, Spain
    38. Lara Jesus, Azores
    39. Nasheeha King, Mauritius
    40. Ana Vieira, Portugal
    (tie) Marina Stefanova, Bulgaria
    42. Janet Shaikh, Pakistan
    (tie) Constanza Bahamondez, Chile
    44. Joelle Company, Switzerland
    45. Alena Baluchova, Slovakia
    46. Lynne Walker, Wales
    47. Aksana Sinitsa, Belarus
    48. Yelena Grishinenko, Kazakhstan
    49. Samy-Anna Saba, New Caledonia
    50. Terje Roosi, Estonia
    51. Violeta Musteikiene, Lithuania
    52. Gudny Gunnarsdottir, Iceland
    53. Noelia Ratrero Medina, Catalonia
    54. Ivana Krajacic, Croatia
    55. Caroline Horan, Northern Ireland
    56. Svetlana Klimoyts, Uzbekistan
    57. Anja Musar Kalan, Slovenia
    58. Joanna Merklejn, Poland
    59. Manal Al-Hijjawi, Jordan
    60. Marina Suartz, Brazil
    61. Ulziikhorol Khalzan, Mongolia
    62. Nora Szabo, Hungary
    63. Lucrecia Lopez, Argentina
    64. Viola Zharko, Azerbaijan
    65. Sara Ataei Kajouei, Iran
    66. Alina Orlanda, Romania
    67. Rita Defranco, Ethiopia
    68. Virginie Merlo, Reunion
    69. Hela Meziou, Tunisia