Mika Koivuniemi wins his 10th career PBA title and over $70,000 in Round1 Japan Cup


    2012-13 PBA Tour #6

    Shinagawa Prince Hotel Bowling Center in Tokyo, Japan (Nov. 29 to Dec. 2, 2012)

    201213PBA06MikaKoivuniemi.jpg201213PBA06YoshihiroKaji2.jpgTwo-time PBA player Mika Koivuniemi (pictured left), a native Finn who lives in Hartland, Mich., won his 10th career PBA title in the Round 1 Japan Cup Bowling 2012 in Tokyo Sunday, Dec. 2. It was the second title for Koivuniemi in Japan after his victory in 2007.

    In the title match of the TV finals at Round1 Stadium Diver City Tokyo Plaza Bowling Center, Koivuniemi flew past Yoshihiro Kaji (right), Japan, 268-214, to earn the 6.000.000 Japanese Yen top prize, approx. 72,730 U.S. Dollar.

    Kaji, who was targeting to become the first Japanese bowler to win the Japan Cup since 1988 (Takeo Sakai), received 3.200.000 Yen for second place.

    201213PBA06YoshihiroSakuraba2.jpg201213PBA06TakeshiSuda2.jpgKaji defeated PBA Player of the Year 2008-09, Wes Malott of Pflugerville, Texas, in the quarterfinals, 226-213, and Koivuniemi's compatriot Osku Palermaa in the semifinals, 235-225, to advance to the championship match.

    Koivuniemi easily defeated Japan's Yoshihiro Sakuraba (left) in the quarterfinals, 228-171, before he survived a semifinal clash with Sean Rash of Montgomery, Ill., defeating the reigning PBA Player of the Year 39-38 in roll off after a 223-223 tie.

    Palermaa and Rash each received 1.500.000 Yen for third and forth place. Parker Bohn III of Jackson, N.J., Malott, Takeshi Suda (right), Japan, and Sakuraba, who all went out in the quarterfinals, received 760.000 Yen apiece.

    The 2012-13 PBA Tour will take a seven-week break before heading to Thunderbowl Lanes in Allen Park, Mich. for the PBA's Detroit Winter Swing Jan. 22-27, 2013.


    Related Articles

    2012-13 PBA Tour Schedule & Champions


    Round1 Japan Cup Bowling 2012 - TV Finals

    Round1 Stadium Diver City Tokyo Plaza Bowling Center

    201213PBA06MikaKoivuniemi2.jpgChampionship Round:
    1. Mika Koivuniemi, Finland, 6.000.000 Yen
    2. Yoshihiro Kaji, Japan, 3.200.000 Yen
    3. Osku Palermaa, Finland, 1.500.000 Yen
    4. Sean Rash, Montgomery, Ill., 1.500.000 Yen
    5. Parker Bohn III, Jackson, N.J., 760.000 Yen
    6. Wes Malott, Pflugerville, Texas, 760.000 Yen
    7. Takeshi Suda, Japan, 760.000 Yen
    8. Yoshihiro Sakuraba, Japan, 760.000 Yen

    Playoff Results:
    Quarterfinal Match 1: Palermaa def. Suda, 268-257
    Quarterfinal Match 2: Kaji def. Malott, 226-213
    Quarterfinal Match 3: Koivuniemi def. Sakuraba, 228-171
    Quarterfinal Match 4: Rash def. Bohn, 223-202
    Semifinal Match 1: Kaji def. Palermaa, 235-225
    Semifinal Match 2: Koivuniemi def. Rash in roll-off, 39-38 after a 223-223 tie
    Championship: Koivuniemi def. Kaji, 268-164

    Complete Results



    Japan Cup Winners

    2012 Mika Koivuniemi (Finland)
    2010 Tommy Jones (United States)
    2009 Patrick Allen (United States)
    2007 Mika Koivuniemi (Finland)
    2006 Walter Ray Williams (United States)
    2005 Tommy Jones (United States)
    2004 Tommy Jones (United States)
    2003 Chris Barnes (United States)
    2002 Robert Smith (United States)
    2001 Bob Learn, Jr. (United States)
    2000 Parker Bohn III (United States)
    1999 Parker Bohn III (United States)
    1998 Parker Bohn III (United States)
    1997 Doug Kent (United States)
    1996 Steve Wilson (United States)
    1995 Amleto Monacelli (Venezuela)
    1994 Brian Voss (United States)
    1993 Pete Weber (United States)
    1992 Parker Bohn III (United States)
    1991 Walter Ray Williams (United States)
    1990 Chris Warren (United States)
    1989 Randy Pedersen (United States)
    1988 Takeo Sakai (Japan)
    1987 Amleto Monacelli (Venezuela)
    1986 Pete Weber (United States)
    1985 Ken Taniguchi (Japan)