PBA50 Tour Season resumes with Player of the Year and PBA50 Finals berths race on the line


    2013 PBA50 Tour #9

    PBA50Logo.jpg201213PBAWalterRayWilliams.jpgWith his second victory of the year in the PBA50 Northern California Classic in June, defending PBA50 Player of the Year Walter Ray Williams Jr. (pictured right) overtook fellow PBA Hall of Famer Amleto Monacelli by two points in the PBA50 Player of the Year race with three tournaments remaining on the 2013 schedule.

    After a six-week break, the race for PBA50 Player of the Year and PBA50 Finals berths resumes with the PBA50 South Shore Open presented by DV8 Aug. 5-8 at Olympia Lanes in Hammond, Ind.

    Williams, who won the PBA50 Sun Bowl in The Villages early in the season, leads the Player of the Year race with 42 points.

    2013PBA5006AmletoMonacelli3.jpg2013PBA50LennieBoresch.jpgMonacelli (left) held an 11-point lead over Lennie Boresch Jr. (right), and led Williams by 14 points, going into the NorCal event, but Williams passed both when he earned 16 points while the two leaders failed to finish among the top four in the match play elimination-format tournament. Monacelli is currently in second with 40 points and Boresch third with 29 points.

    The PBA50 Player of the Year competition is based upon points earned for top four (or top five) finishes in each tournament, depending upon format. Standard tournaments award 16 points for first place, 8 for second, 4 for third, 2 for fourth and 1 for fifth (if a stepladder format is used). Major tournaments award 24, 12, 8, 4 and 2 points, respectively.

    201213PBA14PeteWeber2.jpg2013PBA50BobLearn.jpgAs the 2013 season heads down the homestretch with tournaments also remaining in Decatur, Ill. and Welch, Minn., the Player of the Year points race will also determine three berths in the new ESPN-televised PBA50 Tour Finals special event that will be conducted during the PBA World Series of Bowling V at South Point Hotel, Casino and Bowling Center in Las Vegas in early November.

    Trailing Williams, Monacelli and Boresch in PBA50 Player of the Year points are PBA50 rookie Pete Weber (left) with 26 points, two-time PBA50 Tour champion Bob Learn Jr. (right) with 20 points, and PBA Hall of Famers Tom Baker and Randy Pedersen, who are tied with 16 points each.

    2012PBAS07HughMiller.jpgSeven-time PBA Tour winner winner Hugh Miller (left) of Seattle will be trying to defend his South Shore Open title. Last year he defeated 2007 Senior U.S. Open winner Rick Minier of Houston 198-172 in the championship match for his third PBA50 Tour title.

    Competition begins on Tuesday, Aug. 6 with an eight-game qualifying round followed by another eight-game qualifying round on Wednesday, Aug. 7. The top 40 players (based on 100 player entry) will then advance to match play on Thursday, Aug. 8 with the semifinal rounds scheduled for 7 p.m. Practice and pro-ams will be conducted on Monday, Aug. 5 beginning at 9 a.m.

    Following the South Shore Open will be the PBA50 Decatur Senior and Super Senior Doubles Classic presented by Brunswick at Spare Time Lanes in Decatur, Ill., Aug. 10-13, and the season-finale Treasure Island Resort and Casino Open presented by MOTIV at Island Xtreme Bowl in Welch, Minn., Aug. 18-21, which will be covered by PBA's online bowling channel Xtra Frame.


    Related Articles

    2013 PBA50 Tour Schedule & Champions


    PBA50 South Shore Open presented by DV8

    Olympia Lanes in Hammond, Ind., United States (August 5-8, 2013)

    Monday, August 5, 2013
    9 a.m.–noon - Practice
    1, 3 & 6 p.m. – Pro-am Squads

    Tuesday, August 6, 2013
    9 a.m. - A Squad, 8 qualifying games
    3 p.m. - B Squad, 8 qualifying games

    Wednesday, August 7, 2013
    9 a.m. - B Squad, 8 qualifying games
    3 p.m. – A Squad, 8 qualifying games
    Top 40 advance to single-elimination match play rounds

    Thursday, August 8, 2013
    9 a.m. - Qualifiers 25-40 (best-of-three games)
    10:30 a.m. - Qualifiers 17-24 plus Round of 25-40 winners (best-of-three games)
    12:30 p.m. - Qualifiers 9-16 plus Round of 24 winners (bowl best-of-five games)
    2 p.m. - Qualifiers 1-8 plus Round of 16 winners (best-of-five games)
    5 p.m. - Round of 8 (best-of-three games)
    7 p.m. – Semifinal Round followed by Championship Match (one-game matches)