Dutch Johnny Spil moves into third place at Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament


    2014 European Bowling Tour #3

    Belgium's Lebon, Aernoudt continue to lead qualifying after Squad 3/14; cut for 36th place is 1266 (211 average)

    2014EBT03JohnnySpil.jpg2014EBT03JeanMarcLebon.jpgJohnny Spil (pictured left), Netherlands, led the third of 14 squads to move into third place in the qualifying of the Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2014 Monday evening at Dolfijn Bowling Tilburg in Tilburg, Netherlands with the first two squads.

    The Dutch posted games of 226, 237, 224, 213, 245 and 248 for 1393 total and an average of 232.17. Belgium's Jean-Marc Lebon (right) and Marawan Aernoudt continued to lead the field of 83 bowlers, 70 men and 13 women, from Belgium, England, France, Germany and the Netherlands with 1483 and 1434, respectively.

    Mats Maggi of Belgium slipped to fourth place with 1388. Rounding out the top 6 are Wesley Selier and Christian Kweens, both Netherlands, with 1387 and 1383, resp.

    2012EBT04JimmyRavez.jpg2013EBT18LisanneBreeschoten2.jpgAnother two players moved into the top 10 in Squad 3. Belgium's Jimmy Ravez (left) used a pair of 250s for 1380, good for ninth place overall. Dutch women's national team member Lisanne Breeschoten (right) became the best woman in the field with 1347 including 48 pins handicap after averaging 216.50 scratch.

    Nicky Velders of Belgium is the man "on the bubble" in 36th place to with 1266 or an average of 211.

    The top six players after Tuesday's Squad 4 (scheduled to start at 8 p.m. CET), who will not finish in the top 36 in the overall qualifying standings, will be automatically qualified for Sunday's finals.




    The Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2014 is the third stop of the 2014 European Bowling Tour and the first of four EBT "Silver" tournaments, the third-highest of four EBT categories. The tournament will be held from Sunday, Feb. 23, through Sunday, March 2, at 20-lane Dolfijn Bowling in Tilburg, Netherlands.

    Players will compete for total prize money of 44.400 Euro with 6.000 Euro going to the winner, 4.000 to the runner-up and 3.000 and 2.000 to third and fourth place finishers, respectively. Low to cash is 46th place (400 Euro).

    Qualifying runs through Saturday, March 1 with the final qualifying Squad 14 scheduled for 6 p.m. CET, followed by the ultimate one-game Desperado Squad slated for 9.30 p.m. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300), a standard on the European Bowling Tour.

    A total of 46 players - the top 36 qualifiers, the top 4 from the Desperado Squad and the top 6 from a separate leaderboard of Squads 1-4 conducted Feb. 23-25 - will advance to the finals on Sunday, March 2. The top 6 qualifiers will receive one bye. The winner of the qualifying receives a 1.000 Euro bonus.

    Players ranked 7 to 46 will bowl four games with the top 18 players joining the top six qualifiers in the eliminator finals. Those 24 players will be divided into six groups of four players each for the first of four eliminator rounds.

    All four players of each group will bowl a two-game match with the two lowest scoring players eliminated. The two highest scoring players advance to the next round. In the first round four "lucky losers" (four highest third-place finishers) also advance.

    2014EBTMastersLogo.jpg The field will be cut to 16, eight and then four players who will bowl a final two-game round to determine the champion.

    The Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2014 will be followed by the EBT Masters 2014 on March 3 at Dolfijn Bowling Tilburg featuring the top 12 women and top 12 men of the 2013 EBT point rankings.

    2014EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2014 European Bowling Tour features 21 tournaments in 14 countries. In its 15th season, the EBT consists of two Platinum, six Gold, four Silver and nine Satellite tournaments. The total prize fund exceeds one million Euro.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will compete in the eighth EBT Masters July 6, 2015 in Asti, Italy.



    Related Articles

    Belgian bowlers set the tone on Qualifying Day One at Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2014
    Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2014 Tournament Preview
    Thomas Larsen wins his third EBT title in Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2013
    2014 European Bowling Tour - Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2014 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women



    Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2014 - Qualifying Standings after Squad 3/14