Carsten Warming Hansen shoots lone 1400-series to win qualifying in Munich


    2014 European Bowling Tour #11

    Dane leads the top 64 of 184 players into Sunday's finals; the four squad leaders on Saturday crack the top 8 and earn a 500 Euro bonus each; score to make the cut in 50th place is 1269 (211.50 average)

    2014EBT11CarstenWarmingHansen.jpg2014EBT04JoonasJehkinen.jpgDanish national team member Carsten Warming Hansen (pictured left) was the lone player in the qualifying of the Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open by Erdinger who surpassed the 1400-mark en route to win the qualifying and to lead a field of 64 bowlers, 58 men and six women, into the finals Sunday at Dream-Bowl Palace in Munich, Germany.

    Hansen has won ranking points in nine out of ten events on the European Bowling Tour so far (he did not compete in the Ekaterinburg Open) but is still looking for his first EBT title. He rolled games of 247, 243, 206, 232, 235 and 244 to lead the 184-player standing with 1407 and an average of 234.50.

    Previous leader Dominic Barrett of England was 31 pins behind with 1376 to improve his high score by one pin. However, Barrett fell to third place as Joonas Jehkinen (above right) of Finland posted 1380 in the 18th and last squad to overtake second place.

    2014EBT11QuitterTeeceMrosek.jpg2014EBT11EikeKabowski.jpgJehkinen, Barrett and Hansen currently sit in second, third and fourth place, resp., in the European Bowling Tour men's point ranking. Thomas Larsen (1325; 17th), Denmark, holds a comfortable 174-point lead after 10 of 20 events.

    15-time PBA champion Tommy Jones, United States, and Irish two-hander Chris Sloan slipped to fourth and fifth place with 1369 and 1368, resp. Sixth and seventh place belonged to Richard Teece (pictured left with Ebonite's Mike Quitter, left, and tournament organizer Manual Mrosek, right), England, and Eike Kabowski (right), Germany, who led Squad 16 and 15 with 1363 and 1350. All squad leaders on Saturday received a 500 Euro bonus.

    2014EBT11HansiGlasl.jpg2014EBT04DaryaKovalova.jpgRounding out the top eight, who received two byes for the finals was local favorite and last year's qualifying leader, Hansi Glasl (left), with 1349 (224.83 average). Qualifiers 9-16 will bypass the first round of the finals. 13-time EBT champion Osku Palermaa, Finland, hit the cut for 16th place with 1326 (221.00).

    European champion Daria Kovalova (right), Ukraine, was the best of 20 women in 24th place with 1315 including eight pins handicap each game. Joining Kovalova in the finals were Alena Korobkova, Russia, and Birgit Pöppler, Germany, who finished in the top 50; Laura Beuthner and Sabrina Laub, who were among the top 6 in Squads 1-7; and Maxime de Rooij, Germany, who made it through the "High-Low" list.

    Joachim Karlsson of Sweden took the 50th place with 1269 and an average of 211.50. Andreas Gripp, Germany (258), Alessandro Silletti, Poland (225), Giancarlo Ragusa, Belgium (220) and Mats Maggi, Belgium (213) led the one-game Desperado Squad Saturday night to claim the remaining four spots for the finals.

    2013EBT11DreamBowlPalaceOpenLogo_small.jpg The 5th Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open by Erdinger is the 11th stop of the 2014 European Bowling Tour and the fourth out of six EBT "Gold" tournaments this season. The tournament will be held July 19-27 at 52-lane Dream-Bowl Palace in Unterföhring near Munich, Germany.

    The DBP Track Open offers total prize fund of 70.000 Euro with 7.000 Euro going to the winner, 5.000 to the runner-up, and 3.000 and 2.000 Euro to the third and fourth place finisher, respectively. Low to cash is 64th place for 600 Euro.

    The tournament features a 40-feet lane conditioning pattern with 24.885 ml volume oil total.

    Qualifying (six-game series, unlimited re-entries) ran from Saturday July 19, through Saturday, July 26. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game throughout the entire tournament, a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour.

    A total of 64 players advance to the finals on Sunday, July 27 including the top 50 from the overall qualifying standings plus the top 6 from Squads 1-7, the top 4 from the Desperado Squad and the top 4 from a "High-Low" list (lowest and highest game added together; additional 10,-‚ā¨ per squad). The top 8 qualifiers earn two byes, while qualifiers 9-16 receive a first-round bye.

    Three four-game rounds, each starting from scratch, will trim the field to 36, 16 and then four players, who will carry forward their third-round pinfall total into the eliminator-format finals featuring three one-game rounds.

    All four players bowl the opening game, with the lowest-scoring player after five games being eliminated. In the two rounds to follow, the same "low man out" format applies. The last man standing will be declared the champion.

    2014EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2014 European Bowling Tour features 20 tournaments in 14 countries. In its 15th season, the EBT consists of two Platinum, six Gold, three Silver and nine Satellite tournaments. The total prize fund exceeds one million Euro.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will compete in the eighth EBT Masters July 6, 2015 at Bowling Chamartín in Madrid, Spain, immediately following the III Brunswick Madrid Challenge.



    Related Articles

    Tommy Jones wins two squads in Friday qualifying at Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open
    Dominic Barrett holds on to the lead in Munich after Qualifying Squad 10
    Dominic Barrett takes over qualifying lead in Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open by Erdinger
    Hansi Glasl leads Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open after first weekend
    Christian Birlinger sets the pace as Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open gets underway in Germany
    2014 European Bowling Tour - Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2014 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women



    Dream-Bowl Palace Open - Standings after Qualifying and Desperado Squad

    The top 50 qualifiers plus the top 6 from Squads 1-7 (places 51-56), the top 4 from the Desperado Squad (places 57-60) and the top four from a "High-Low" list (places 61-64) advance to the finals.