Dutch Jeroen van Geel holds on to the qualifying lead in Chandra Open 2014


    2014 European Bowling Tour #14

    Cassie and Dominic Barrett lead Squad 7 on Thursday to leap into 7th & 8th place; score to make the cut in 30th place surpasses the 1200-mark (1210, 201.67)

    2014EBT14CassieDominicBarrettt.jpgDutchman Jeroen van Geel, who averaged 235.17 for six games in the first of 13 squads, continued to lead the Chandra Open 2014 as qualifying has surpassed the halfway mark at Chandra Bowling in Nieuwegein, Netherlands.

    Cassie and Dominic Barrett (pictured left) led the seventh squad (squads 5 & 6 have been cancelled) on Thursday evening to move into seventh and eighth place in the overall standings. Cassie, a member of the Australian national team, toppled 1272 pins, an average of 212, and added 48 pins women's handicap for 1320 total.

    Her husband, nine-time European Bowling Tour titlist and three-time PBA champion, Dom Barrett of England, was mere three pins behind with 1317 (219.50) including six games between 201 and 238. The top 8 at the end of the qualifying will receive a first-round bye for Sunday's finals.

    2013EBT18JeroenvanGeel.jpg2014EBT14PriscillaMaaswinkel.jpgVan Geel led the field of 87 bowlers from seven countries with 1411 and was followed by Dirk Dreyer (left) of Germany in second place with 1369. Dutch national team members Priscilla Maaswinkel (right) and Lisanne Breeschoten are the best of 11 women in third and fourth place with 1368 and 1349, respectively.

    Tanner Spacey (1338), United States, and Jimmy Ravez (1324), Belgium, remained in fifth and sixth place. Nico Joris of Belgium, who was distant third in Squad 7 with 1253, moved into 17th place.

    Jean-Marc Samain, Belgium, holds the 30th and last place to qualify directly for the finals with 1210 and an average of 201.67.

    Qualifying commences on Friday, September 19, with Squads 9 & 10 (Squad 8 will not be played) scheduled to start at 4 and 8 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).

    The Chandra Open 2014 is the 14th stop of the 2014 European Bowling Tour and the sixth out of nine EBT "Satellite" tournaments this season. The tournament runs from Sept. 14-21 at 16-lane Chandra Bowling in Nieuwegein, Netherlands.

    The Chandra Open offers total prize fund of 25.600 Euro with 5.000 Euro going to the winner and 3.000 Euro to the runner-up, while the third and fourth place finishers will receive 2.000 Euro and 1.000, respectively. Final cash spot is 40th place worth 300 Euro.

    The Chandra Open features a 38 feet lane conditioning pattern with 26.45ml volume oil total.

    Qualifying (six-game series, unlimited re-entries) runs from Sunday, Sept. 14, through Saturday, Sept. 20, with the final Squad 13 scheduled for 6 p.m., and concludes with the Desperado Squad slated for 9.30 p.m.

    Women receive 8 pins handicap each game throughout the entire tournament, an equality handicap provided to women in all European Bowling Tour events.

    Total of 40 players will advance to the finals on Sunday, Sept. 21 including the top 30 from the overall qualifying standings, the top 6 of a separate leader board of Squads 1-4 (Sept. 14-16), and the top 4 of the one-game Desperado Squad. The top 8 qualifiers receive a first-round bye.

    The remaining 32 players bowl four games starting from scratch with half of the field advancing to the second round. The top 16 from Round One and the top eight qualifiers bowl another four-game round starting from scratch to cut to the top 12.

    Those twelve bowl six games with the pinfall from Round Two being carried forward. The player with the highest 10-game total including handicap becomes the champion.

    2014EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2014 European Bowling Tour features 20 tournaments in 14 countries. In its 15th season, the EBT consists of two Platinum, six Gold, three Silver and nine Satellite tournaments. The total prize fund exceeds one million Euro.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will compete in the eighth EBT Masters July 6, 2015 at Bowling Chamartín in Madrid, Spain, immediately following the III Brunswick Madrid Challenge.


    Related Articles

    Top 6 after Tuesday's Squad 4 secure spots for finals in Chandra Open 2014
    Three players crack the top 8 in Squad 3 at Chandra Open 2014
    Jeroen van Geel, Priscilla Maaswinkel take early lead in Chandra Open 2014
    2014 European Bowling Tour - Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2014 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women



    Chandra Open 2014 - Standings after Qualifying Squad 7/13

    Top 30 qualifiers plus the top 6 of a separate leader board of Squads 1-4 (places 31-36) and the top 4 of the Desperado Squad (places 37-40) will advance to Sunday's finals. Top 8 qualifiers receive a first-round bye.