Dutch Ramon Hilferink averages 249.17 to overtake the lead in 24th Malta Open Championships



    Frank Selvag (NOR) and Alex Christofi (CYP) achieve perfection; heading into the last day of qualifying the score to make the cut in 28th place is 2700, an average of 225

    2015MaltaOpenRamonHilferink.jpgStarting the penultimate qualifying day at the 24th Malta Open Championships with a high series of 1499, Dutchman Ramon Hilferink (pictured left) posted a 1491 series to overtake the lead in the 115-player field from 18 countries with 2990 and an overall average of 249.17.

    2015MaltaOpenAnnieThorell.jpgHilferink, bronze medalist in Singles at the Men's European Championships in Denmark earlier this month, rolled games of 246, 255, 289, 248 and 258 before he closed out with 195, his lone game under 200, to miss the magic 3000-bar by just 10 pins.

    Previous leader Annie Thorell (right) slipped to second place with 2954, including eight pins women's handicap each game. The Swede, who averaged 238.17, is the best of 25 woman and one of four above the cut line.

    2015MaltaOpenKennethArpa.jpgKenneth Arpa (left) improved his lower initial series (1358) by 13 pins on Friday to sit in third place with 2917. Places four to six belong to Englishmen. Darren Cundy had a 1413 series in Squad 11, one of 10 1400-series on Friday, to leap into fourth place with 2858.

    2015MaltaOpenRobThurlby.jpgRob Thurlby (right), who rolled the first 300 this year on Wednesday, tied Cundy at 2858 but was ranked fifth due to the lower last game. Rounding out the top 6, who will earn two byes at the end of the qualifying, was Glen Richardson, who used the second-highest 1452 series on Friday for 2850.

    2015MaltaOpenGiannisStathatos.jpgGiannis Stathatos (left) of Greece rolled six games between 278 and 220 to pace Squad 9 with 1442 and added 1280 to finish the day in 22nd place with 2722. Frank Selvag of Norway and Alex Christofi of Cyprus set two of the highlights at Eden Super Bowl in St. Julian's, Malta, by rolling the second and third 300 game in the second and fourth game of Squad 11.

    2015MaltaOpenAlexChristofi.jpgChristofi (right) currently sits in 25th place with 2712, while Selvag is 98 pins off the pace for the top 28 in 42nd place with 2602. 28th place is a tie as Ben Harvey of England and Marco Landman, Netherlands, are deadlocked at 2700 total pins, an average of 225.00. Harvey holds the last spot to advance due to the higher last game.

    2015MaltaOpenLeeCocker.jpgHeading into the last qualifying day at Eden Super Bowl England's Matt Forsyth and Squad 12 leader Lee Cocker (left) lead the group of 15 players, who have completed only one qualifying block with 1420 (236.67) and 1382 (230.33), respectively.

    Qualifying continues on Saturday, June 20, with squads 13-15 scheduled to start at 9 a.m., 12.30 and 4 p.m. Central European Summer Time and concludes with the one-game Desperado Squad slated for 7.30 p.m. (Note: 24 spots each in squads 14 and 15 will be blocked strictly for re-entries.)

    2015MaltaOpenLogo.jpg The 24th edition of the Malta Open Championships will be held from June 17-21 at 20-lane Eden Super Bowl located at St. George's Bay in St. Julian's, Malta. Players will compete for total prize money of minimum 10.000 Euro increasing to € 15.000 in case of more than 150 participants.

    The tournaments will pay a 1.800 to 2.600 Euro first prize and a 36th-place prize list (75 to 120 Euro last-to-cash). Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300).

    The 24th Malta Open will be played on the 40-foot Kegel Bourbon Street lane conditioning pattern with 23.45 mL volume oil total.

    Qualifying (12 games, split into two blocks of six games; six-game re-entries in order to replace the lower of the initial two series; the higher must be retained) got underway Wednesday, June 17, and runs through Saturday, June 20, with the final Desperado Squad scheduled for 7.30 p.m. CEST.

    Total 36 players will qualify for the finals - the top 28 players from the overall qualifying standings, the top four Turbo qualifiers and the top 4 of the Desperado Squad. The Turbo qualifiers are the players with the highest game, including women's bonus, within any six-game series (extra entry fee required).

    The top six qualifiers will earn two byes, while qualifiers 7-12 will receive a first-round bye. The remaining 24 players advance to the first round to bowl four games from scratch. The top 12 will advance to the second round also featuring four games from scratch.

    The top 10 (seeded 7th to 16th) will meet the top six qualifiers (seeded 1st to 6th) in the first of four Knock-Out rounds consisting of two games with the highest pinfall including bonus advancing. In each round, the highest-seeded player bowls the lowest-seeded player, the second-highest bowls the second-lowest, and so on.

    The field will be trimmed to eight, four and then two players who will determine the 2015 Malta Open champion.

    BowlingdigitalBanner.gif In cooperation with Bowlingdigital's Flavio Cuva, Beat Grauwiler and Talktenpin's Dom Gall, the 24th Malta Open Championships will be streamed live in its entirety on Dutch Bowling TV, enabling bowling fans to watch all the action from Eden Super Bowl from start to finish free of charge. No subscription necessary.

    DutchBowlingTVLogo.jpg In addition to wire-to-wire coverage of the event, virtual studio interviews will be broadcast with all squad winners and various bowlers that are available during each day. To watch the live stream, click here.

    Live streaming, sponsored by QubicaAMF, will start at 5 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST) on Wednesday, June 17, and will conclude with the championship match slated for 4 p.m. on Sunday, June 21.


    Related Articles

    Annie Thorell sets the pace in qualifying at 24th Malta Open Championships
    Swede Erik Ahlstrand averages over 240 to take the early lead in 24th Malta Open
    24th Malta Open Championships - tournament preview



    24th Malta Open Championships - Qualifying Standings after Squad 12/15

    Players with 6 and 12-game totals; the higher of the initial two series (Block 1) must be retained; the lower (Block 2) can be replaced by a higher re-entry series; top 28 players from the overall qualifying standings, top four Turbo qualifiers and top 4 of the Desperado Squad will advance to the finals; top six qualifiers will earn two byes, qualifiers 7-12 will receive a first-round bye

    For the complete scores, click here.

    300 games (3) - Rob Thurlby, Frank Selvag and Alex Christofi.