51st QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup nears 90-country mark


    2015 BWC

    Bowlingdigital.com will provide onsite coverage from Sam's Town bowling center in Las Vegas Nov. 14-20



    After a 16-year absence, the QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup returns to the United States when the 51st edition of the prestigious event will be held from November 13-20 at the 56-laner inside Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall in Las Vegas, Nevada.

    With less than three weeks to go before the first ball will be rolled, the World Cup, traditionally tenpin bowling's biggest event in regard to participating countries, is nearing the 90-country mark.

    82 men and 71 women from 88 countries have registered for the event so far, which already exceeds the expectation of tournament organizer Anne-Marie Board and the World Cup staff, who were expecting bowlers from around 85 countries to participate in the five-day event (Nov. 15-19).

    After Azerbaijan, Brazil, China, Egypt, El Salvador, Eritrea, Greece, Latvia, Puerto Rico, Singapore and Venezuela have named, withdrawn or changed one or both players, the World Cup includes the following countries:
    Aruba, Australia, Azores, Bahamas, Belarus, Belgium, Bermuda, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Catalonia, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Egypt, El Salvador, England, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, French Guiana, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guam, Guatemala, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jersey, Jordan, Kosovo, Latvia, Libya, Lithuania, Macau, Macedonia, Malaysia, Martinique, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Norway, Pakistan, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Reunion, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, UAE, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Virgin Islands, Wales, and the host country United States.

    2014BWCChrisBarnes8.jpg The 40th BWC in Singapore in 2004 holds the record for the most countries (95) and the most male players (93), while the 46th BWC in Toulon, France, drew the most players (167) including the most women (76).

    2014BWCClaraGuerrero8.jpg Last year's tournament in Wroclaw, Poland, drew 152 players, 82 men and 70 women, from 85 countries. The champions were Clara Juliana Guerrero (left) of Colombia and Chris Barnes (right) of the United States.

    Guerrero will be in Las Vegas to defend her title trying to become just the sixth women with multiple BWC titles.




    The five women, who have accomplished the feat, are Jeanette Baker, Australia (1982, 83); Pauline Smith, Great Britain (1981, 93); Shannon Pluhowsky, USA (2002, 04); Aumi Guerra, Dominican Republic (2010, 11) and Caroline Lagrange, Canada (2009, 13).

    Four-time World Cup champion Paeng Nepomuceno, Philippines, who has won record four titles (1976, 1980, 1992 and 1996), Michael Schmidt of Canada (2005, 10) and Arne Svein Strøm of Norway (1977, 1982) are the only multiple men's champions.

    Pluhowsky and Guerra will also be in Las Vegas targeting to win their third World Cup. Baker and Guerra are the only players, men and women, who successfully defended a World Cup title.

    The fourth World Cup champion in the women's field is Kerry Ryan-Ciach of Canada, who captured the title in 2003 in Tegucigalpa, Honduras.

    It marks the third time in history that the Bowling World Cup visits the United States. The 17th edition was held in 1981 in New York (Champions: Robert Worall, USA, and Pauline Smith, Great Britain) and the 35th BWC was held in 1999, also at Sam's Town (champions: Ahmed Shaheen, Qatar, and Amanda Bradley, Australia).

    BowlingdigitalBanner.gif 2014BowlTVLogo_small.jpg
    Bowlingdigital.com will provide onsite coverage of the 51st QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup from Las Vegas including reports, photos and results after each round. The United States Bowling Congress will provide live streaming on BowlTV.

    2015BWCLogo.jpg Onsite coverage and live streaming will commence on Saturday, November 14th with the opening ceremony and concludes on Thursday 19th with the stepladder finals. Men and women will bowl in separate divisions.

    All competitors at the 2015 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup will bowl 24 qualifying games over three days, before the field is cut to the top 24 for eight additional games. The 32-game pinfall totals will determine the 8 players for the round-robin match-play portion of the tournament, after which the top three will advance to the stepladder finals based on their 40-game totals.

    2015 BWC Schedule at a Glance
    • Friday, Nov. 13, 2015 - Arrival, Acclimatization, Unofficial Practice, Ball Control
    • Saturday, Nov. 14, 2015 - Ball Control, Official Practice, Bowlers' Briefing; Opening Ceremony and Welcome Reception
    • Sunday, Nov. 15, 2015 - Qualifying Day 1 (Games 1-8)
    • Monday, Nov. 16, 2015 - Qualifying Day 2 (Games 9-16)
    • Tuesday, Nov. 17, 2015 - Qualifying Day 3 (Games 17-24); Cut to Top 24 Men and Women
    • Wednesday, Nov. 18, 2015 - Round of 24 (Games 25-32); Cut to Top 8 Men and Women
    • Thursday, Nov. 19, 2015 - Round Robin Match Play (Games 33-40); Cut to Top 3 Men and Women
    • Semifinal & Finals; Presentation of Trophies; Victory Banquet
    • Friday, Nov. 20, 2015 - Departure
    To view the detailed schedule please click here.


    Related Articles

    51st QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup reaches 80-country mark
    Tournament Preview - 51st QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
    Sam Rose, Keira Reay to bowl for England at Bowling World Cup Las Vegas
    Igor Pizzoli wins Brazilian Bowling World Cup Qualifier for Men
    Bianca Wiekeraad, Patrick Meka book tickets to Las Vegas with victory in Dutch Bowling Tour
    Yifat Tal, Oron Cohen will repeat at 51st QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
    Las Vegas to host the 51st QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup


    51st QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup - Registered Players (as of Oct. 14, 2015)