Record field set for Striking Against Breast Cancer Mixed Doubles


    2016 PBA Tour #10 / 2016 PWBA Tour #12

    PBA, PWBA Tour stars headline 17th annual fund-raiser in Houston



    2016TheLucyLogo.jpg The largest field in the 17-year history of Donna Conners' tribute to her late friend, Luci Bonneau, will arrive in Houston this weekend to compete for Professional Bowlers Association and Professional Women's Bowlers Association Tour titles in the PBA-PWBA Xtra Frame Striking Against Breast Cancer Mixed Doubles tournament, sponsored by Storm.

    After raising nearly $750,000 to help fund breast cancer research and assist those who may not be able to afford proper care, Conners continues to enhance the tournament to accommodate an increasing number of PBA and PWBA competitors who want to participate.

    True, there is a $16,000 first prize at stake for the winning team, but that's not the reason bowlers from across the nation support "The Luci," as the tournament is affectionately known. The bowlers want to support the cause in the name of a beloved former competitor.

    Conners will take the event to new heights this year by adding a fourth qualifying squad, meaning there will be room for an additional 42 teams. In previous years, the tournament at Bowl on Bellaire (formerly named Palace Lanes) was limited to 126 teams. But Conners doesn't ever want to turn away players who want to participate.

    So in its 17th year, the tournament will include its largest entry ever – more than 300 individuals. And for the second year in a row, bowling fans around the world will be able to follow the event from start to finish, Friday, Saturday and Sunday, live on PBA's Xtra Frame online video-streaming service.

    In addition to the world-class competition, "the Luci" includes a world-class pro-am in which amateur bowlers bowl alongside PBA and PWBA stars, winning significant merchandise prizes donated by a number of Houston area retailers, bowling industry companies and the players themselves.

    Throughout the event, activities are aimed at raising money that will be donated to The Rose, a Houston-based organization that helps women who can't afford breast care treatment or mammograms, and the Huntsman Group, a cancer research based in Utah.

    "My mission statement is that you have to have players to bowl the tournament. If you don't have the players, you don't have a pro-am," Conners said in explaining her philosophy. "If you don't have a pro-am, you can't raise money. It's all about the players. That's the rule we live by. The players are great; they make it happen."

    For those who would like to support Conners' efforts, but can't attend the event, visit click here to make a contribution online.


    Related Articles

    Shannon O'Keefe, Bill O'Neill win second Striking Against Breast Cancer Mixed Doubles title
    2016 PBA Tour Schedule & Champions
    2016 PWBA Tour Schedule & Champions


    PBA/PWBA Xtra Frame Striking Against Breast Cancer Mixed Doubles Schedule

    Bowl on Bellaire in Houston, Texas, USA (July 29-31, 2016)

    Thursday, July 28, 2016
    9 a.m. and 1 p.m. – Open practice sessions

    Friday, July 29, 2016
    8 a.m. – A Squad, 8 qualifying games
    1:30 p.m. - B Squad, 8 qualifying games
    8 p.m. - Pro-am squad

    Saturday, July 30, 2016
    8 a.m. - C Squad, 8 qualifying games
    1:30 p.m. - D Squad, 8 qualifying games
    Top 30 games after 8 games advance to cashers' round
    8 p.m. - Pro-am squad

    Sunday, July 31, 2016
    8 a.m. - Top 38 teams, 4-game cashers' round
    Top 8 teams after 12 games advance to round-robin match play
    Noon - Top 8 teams, 8 games round robin match play


    History of Striking Against Breast Cancer Mixed Doubles Winners

    2000 - Donna Conners/Mark Scroggins
    2001 - Amy Dillon/Chris Barnes
    2002 - Diandra (Hyman) Asbaty/Dino Castillo
    2003 - Genie Franklin/Wes Malott
    2004 - Krystal Scott/Russ Wilson
    2005 - Rachel Perez/Paul Fleming
    2006 - Carolyn Dorin-Ballard/Marc Laracuente
    2007 - Shannon Pluhowsky/Tommy Jones
    2008 - Shannon Pluhowsky/Tommy Jones
    2009 - Carolyn Dorin-Ballard/Parker Bohn III
    2010 - Shannon Pluhowsky/Tommy Jones
    2011 - Shannon Pluhowsky/Tommy Jones
    2012 - Shannon O'Keefe/Bryan O'Keefe
    2013 - Shannon O'Keefe/Bill O'Neill
    2014 - Missy Parkin/Scott Norton
    2015 – Shannon O'Keefe/Bill O'Neill