McLeary, Jensen and Johnson receive World Bowling Writers' Awards


    WBW News

    By Keith Hale

    Hazel_McLeary_2553.jpg Hazel McLeary of Victoria, BC, Canada was presented with the Gosta Zellen Golden Quill Award for outstanding tenpin bowling journalism during the 27th Annual General Meeting of World Bowling Writers at the Lovvang Bowl, Aalborg on August 9.

    Kim_Thorsgaard-Jensen_1104.jpg The Mort Luby Jr. Distinguished Service Award went to Aalborg's own Kim Thorsgaard Jensen for his outstanding organizational work with the European Tenpin Bowling Federation, the European Bowling Tour and work with the Tournament Committee of the World Tenpin Bowling Association. Jensen is also General Manager of the Lovvang Bowl, currently hosting the WTBA Women's World Championships.

    Magnus_Johnson_1542.jpg Magnus Johnson of Sweden was named the 'Outstanding International Coach' and will receive his award during the Olympia Tournament in Helsingborg, Sweden next week.

    After the bi-annual elections, Hazel McLeary was voted WBW President until late 2007 and the new Vice-President for the American zone is Lucas Wiseman, Milwaukee, USA.

    The 2005 Media tournament, which preceded the WBW meeting, was won by Heikki Sarso, President of the World Tenpin Bowling Association.

    World Bowling Writers is an organization of bowling journalists worldwide, with membership representing most of the international bowling publications and other tenpin bowling media.