Lynda Barnes and Paul Moor the 2005 WBW Bowlers of the Year


    World News

    By Keith Hale

    Lynda Barnes of Texas, USA and Paul Moor of Hull, England have been named 2005 World Bowling Writers Bowlers of the Year.

    2005AMZCLyndaBarnes2.jpg Barnes enjoyed a magnificent year with victories and a host of medals on lanes far and wide and achieved one of her lifetime ambitions by winning the QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup in Slovenia in November.

    Prior to that memorable victory, Barnes enjoyed the 2005 WTBA Women’s World Championships in Aalborg, Denmark, taking Doubles bronze; Team silver; All Events silver; Masters bronze.

    The another treasure chest from the 2005 American Zone Championships in Costa Rica, collecting Singles silver; Doubles gold; Team gold; All Events gold and Masters bronze.

    Paul_Moor_5269.jpg Moor, top ranked on the 2005 European Bowling Tour, emerged champion of the Irish Open, Golden Bowl and Norwegian Open and was runner-up in the Aalborg International, Malta Open and Kungsbacka International. He also had two fourth places on the 20-stop EBT.

    Other lady nominees were Wendy Chai, Malaysia; Diandra Asbaty, USA; Wang Yu-Ling, Chinese Taipei and Zara Glover, England. Moor beat out male nominees Andrew Cain, USA; Alex Liew, Malaysia and Kimmo Lehtonen, Finland.