Yeong-Nathan, Putney, Glover advance to the women's Live TV Finals in 44th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup


    2008 BWC

    Bol 300 in Hermosillo, Mexico (Nov. 7-15, 2008)

    2008BWCJasmineYeongNathan4.jpg Jasmine Yeong-Nathan (pictured left) from Singapore held on to the lead in women's round robin match play at the 44th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup and is one win away from one of the most prestigious titles in the sport of tenpin bowling.

    The 20-year-old, who overtook the lead on day two, claimed the No. 1 seed for the three-player stepladder live TV finals on Friday at Bol 300 in Hermosillo, Mexico, with 9114 pinfall total including 120 bonus (30 per win) after going 4-4 in match play.

    2008BWCAnnMareePutney3.jpg The Singaporean averaged 224.85 over 40 games and could make history in her country as Singapore has never won the QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup either in the men's or in the women's division.

    Instead, defending champion, Ann-Maree Putney (right) of Australia, will try to make history of her own by becoming the first woman to win back-to-back titles since Jeanette Baker Finch, also of Australia, did it in 1982 and 1983. A win would also make Putney one of four women to win the event twice (Finch, Pluhowsky and Pauline Smith (Buck), England).

    2008BWCZaraGlove3r.jpg Putney made a late charge during match play, but finished second with 9083 (223.33) and a 5-3 won-loss record. Before she can bowl for the title, Putney must take on No. 3 Zara Glover (left) of England in Friday's opening match.

    2008BWCHelenJohnsson3.jpg There were just two pins separating Helén Johnsson (right), Sweden (8792) and Glover of England (8790) with the position round to go and they were playing each other. With 30 bonus pins for the win at stake, Johnsson could afford to tie the match while Glover must win to advance.

    It was nip and tuck all the way. Zara opened the first frame but Helen opened the fourth. Then both girls started striking. Zara left a single pin in the 10th and spared it, then struck, meaning that Helen had to strike with her first balls. She left a single pin, finishing with a 225 game to Zara's 237, giving Zara the coveted last spot for the finals.

    Zara said afterwards: "I feel sick. I am shaking so much. I really thought I had blown it with that nine count in the 10th frame as Helen was lined up so well and I was sure she would strike. I can't believe it – I had a good first day but I had to come from so far behind to make the finals. It's brilliant!"

    The 3-time World Champion from 2003, who won the European Champions Cup three weeks ago, finished in third place with 9057 pinfall total (221.93) including the field-best 6-2 match play record. Johnsson had to settle for fourth place with 9017 (222.43) and a 4-4 record.

    2008BWCKristaPollannen3_small.jpg 2008BWCShannonPluhowsky3_small.jpg Finn Krista Pöllänen (left) finished another 48 pins behind Johnsson in fifth place with 8969 (220.48) after going 5-3 in round robin.

    For the first time in her four World Cup appearances, Shannon Pluhowsky (right), United States, will not compete in the title match.

    2008BWCLisanneBreeschoten3_small.jpg 2008BWCJenniferPark3_small.jpg The two-time BWC champion (2002, '04) and 2003 runner-up won only two of her eight matches and landed in sixth place with 8706 (216.15).

    BWC rookie Lisanne Breeschoten (left), Netherlands, finished in seventh place with 8591 (213.28) and a 2-6 won-loss record.

    Rounding out the top 8 was Jennifer Park (right), Canada, who went 4-4 an route to end the tournament with 8572 (211.30).

    Eurosport2Logo_small.jpg TelMexLogo_small.jpg QubicaAMF has announced that both finals, men and women, will be shown live on Mexican TV channel TelMex. According to European Sport Channel Eurosport2, the men's finals will be broadcasted live on Friday, Nov. 14, starting at 10.30 p.m. CET while the women's finals will be taped and air on Saturday, Nov. 15, from 8.30 - 10 p.m. CET.

    The first match will be Zara Glover against Ann Maree Putney, followed by Zulmazran Zulkifli against Martin Larsen. The women's final will follow with the men's final going on the lanes immediately afterwards.

    Women's Division - Round Robin Match Play

    The top 3 advance to Friday's Live TV Stepladder Finals.