Team India ready to compete in 4th Commonwealth Tenpin Bowling Championships



     The Tenpin Bowling Federation of India, TBF(I) will be sending a team to compete in the 4th Commonwealth Tenpin Bowling Championships to be held from November 23-29, 2008 in Belfast, Northern Ireland.

    Sumathi Nallabantu, Prathima Hedge, Dilbir Singh and Vijay Dasari will compete against players from 16 other countries of the Commonwealth family which have confirmed their participation in this biannual event. Jimmy Lee, former Malaysian team stalwart, is the coach for Team India.

    L-R Team India with Sumathi Nallabantu, Prathima Hedge, Jimmy Lee (head Coach), Dilbir Singh and Vijay Dasari. Click on the image to enlarge it.

    The players were selected based on their performance at various international and local events such as the 20th ABF Asian Tenpin Bowling Championships (Hong Kong, China), WTBA Men's World Championships (Bangkok, Thailand), 20th Indian National Tenpin Bowling Championships (Bangalore, India) and 2nd Indian National Team Tenpin Bowling Championships (Chennai, India).

    "The participation of Team India shows that we are serious in promoting and competing in the sport of tenpin bowling not only in India but also in Asia and on the World stage. Only through continued exposure to high-level events such as this, will we be able to have world-class athletes and hopefully champions in the near future", commented Mr. Karti P. Chidambaram, President, TBF (I) and Chairman of the National Selection Committee.

    The host bowling center is the Dundonald International Ice Bowl, a 30-lane QubicaAMF equipped bowling center that was also the host for the 32nd edition of the AMF Bowling World Cup in 1996 where history was made when Paeng Nepomuceno of the Philippines won his unprecedented fourth World Cup title.

    All players, maximum two men and two women from each country, will compete for medals in men's and women's Singles and Doubles, Mixed Doubles and Team as well as in men's and women's All Events and Masters.

    Two patterns from the Kegel Navigation series have been selected for the championships: Boardwalk (short oil, 35ft.) and Route 66 (long oil, 45ft.). The stepladder finals of the Masters will be played on dual condition.

    Bulletin No. 3