16th annual National Golden Ladies Classic turns 16



    Dede Davidson wins 19th WWPB title By Joe Lyou (Tenpin Slants)

    2007BowlExpoJoeLyou.jpgJeanette Robinson's baby is about to turn 16 years old. No, not that baby. This one is the 16th annual National Golden Ladies Classic, scheduled for next week (March 6-9) at the Orleans Bowling Center in Las Vegas.

    It was in 1991 when Jeanette, a WIBC/USBC Hall of Famer, staged her first Golden Ladies Classic at the old Showboat. After the famed 106-lane center closed (click here to read more), Jeanette eventually moved her baby to The Orleans seven years ago.

    The annual classic, now sponsored by Storm, is open to all women who are 50 and over. There are two divisions, one for Seniors 50-59 and the other for Super Seniors 60 and up. Entry fee is $150, all of which goes into the prize fund, plus there is added monies from Storm and The Orleans.

    The winner - and there'll be a new one this year - is guaranteed $2,000. Florida's Shirley Levens is the defending champion, but the 2006 BWAA (Bowling Writers Association of America) Senior Woman Bowler of the Year is facing an operation for a leg problem.

    "Shirley was devastated," Jeanette said, "and was almost in tears when she called to say she was going to have to withdraw from the tournament. Shirley said that she'd definitely be back next year."

    Jeanette added that she now expects 72 bowlers to compete in the Golden Ladies Classic. It'll be 73 if Jeanette can recover from the injuries she suffered in an auto accident last January. And don't bet against the indomitable 77-year-old righthander, who has competed in all of the previous 15 Golden Ladies Classic events. Besides, she has overcome greater obstacles in her long career and has always bounced back.

    According to Hall of Fame writer Dick Evans, Jeanette "has won three pro titles (editor's note: Janette, who was inducted into - at least - seven Hall of Fames, won her first PWBA title in 1970 in Tokyo, Japan, the second came 1974 in Dayton, OH and finally she won the 1976 LPBA AMF Tournament of Champions in Canton, OH.), coached thousands of players (including the 1967 Team USA at the FIQ World Championships in Malmö, Sweden), served 10 years as president of the Professional Women's Bowling Association, and writes a monthly bowling column for the TenPin Alley publication."

    For further information about the National Golden Ladies Classic, call Jeanette Robinson at 1-888-365-7111, Ext. 6442.

    Dede Davidson wins 19th WWPB title

    Dede_Davidson_1515.jpg The Harley's Camarillo WWPB (Western Women Pro Bowlers) Open was an extremely high-scoring tournament. The winner was Dede Davidson of Buellton who went undefeated in the finals (10 matches). What's just as amazing is the fact that this was Davidson's 19th WWPB title, which was worth $1,000.

    Several spectators thought Michelle Silver of West Los Angeles might be a factor in the finals, having fired a record 2507 in the 10-game qualifying round. Yep, that's a 250.7 average. The old record was 2489 set by Fullerton's Missy Bellinder in 2002 at Palos Verdes Bowl in Torrance.

    Silver's qualifying record was highlighted by an 836 series (300-279-257) in Games 3-4-5 and a 299 in Game 9. Tammy Sibley of Tehachapi also fired a 300, while Cindy Stuard of Ventura had a 298.

    In the finals, Silver didn't have the pin carry she had in qualifying and finished in fifth place. The runner-up was Laura Hardeman of Chula Vista, who, just the week before with Steven Smith, won the inaugural MoRich Mixed Doubles National Championship in Las Vegas.

    A spectator commented to Scott Poddig, the managing partner of Harley's Camarillo Bowl, that he had put down "a nice shot for the ladies." Poddig, a former bowling coach at Cal State Fullerton, said he didn't want "a tough USBC Sports Shot."

    Poddig added that he "enjoys hosting the WWPB" and thinks the tournament is a good attraction for his house bowlers and the local community. It sounds as if there'll be another WWPB tournament in Camarillo in 2007.