Tournament Awards


    41st QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup

    Gladiator Bowling Center in Ljubljana, Slovenia

    2005 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup Champions

     The pictures shows 2005 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup women's champions Lynda Barnes from the United States of America and men's champion Michael Schmidt from Canada with all the trophies. The perpetual trophies remain with QubicaAMF while the bowlers carry back home a replica.

    2005 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup Country Award

     The performance of Ann Louise Haugen (3rd place finisher women's division) and Petter Hansen (5th place finisher men's division) meant that the duo and coach Erik Garder won the Bent Pedersen trophy for the top nation in the tournament. The trophy for this award has been donated by Hiroshi Noda, QubicaAMF's official Bowling World Cup photographer.

    2005 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
    Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Tournament

     As usual, the players voted for their sportswoman and sportsman of the tournament. These awards went to Suzuna Miyagi of Japan and Mark Bondi of Scotland . The crystal mementos were presented by the new champions at the closing banquet.

    2005 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup Women's High Game Award

     Helen Johnsson of Sweden received the 2005 Women's High Game Award. The three-time Swedish national champion was the first of two women (Lynda Barnes was the other) to roll a 299-game in the tournament. Johnsson accomplished the feat in the fourth game of the final qualifying block, the 22nd game overall, en route to finish the qualifying in second place. Five women - Shalin Zulkifli, Malaysia (1997), Jill Friis, Canada (1999), Diane Buchanan, Canada (2000), Liza Paluzzi, South Africa (2002), and Wendy Bergen, Belgium (2004) achieved perfection in the QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup.

    L-R Borut Knavs, manager of Gladiator Bowling Center, Helen Johnsson and tournament director Bernard Gibbons.

    2005 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup Men's High Game Award

     Steve Thornton of England rolled the first 300-game of the tournament, the 23rd of a man and the 28th in the QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup history in the sixth game of the first qualifying block en route to earn this year's Men's High Game Award. Anders Öhman of Sweden (game #8), Tamas Szabo of Hungary (game #21) and Badr Al-Sheikh of Saudi Arabia (game #29) accomplished the feat later in the tournament.

    L-R Steve Thornton and tournament director Bernard Gibbons.

    All Pictures courtesy of Hero Noda, Japan.