Host country Netherlands announces team for Women's European Championships 2012


    2012 WEC

    2012WECLogo.jpgThe Netherlands Bowling Federation (NBF), which will host the Women's European Bowling Championships, has announced the six women who will represent their country at Dolfijn Bowling in Tilburg from June 6-17, 2012.

    The Dutch team will consist of
    • Bianca Wiekeraad, 22, of Schiedam
    • Ellen Jansen, 20, of Nieuwegein
    • Ghislaine van der Tol, 25, of Nieuwegein
    • Nicole Sanders, 24, of Emmen
    • Sophie van der Meer, 25, of 's-Hertogenbosch
    • Wendy Kok, 24, of Haarlem

    Wiekeraad, Van der Tol, Sanders and Kok were on the Dutch team in the 2010 WEC in Riga, Latvia, where the Netherlands won two silver medals in Trios and Team event.

    Former Dutch international Ton Plummen of Heerlen will serve as team manager. Head coach Peter van Zijp of Schiedam will be assisted by André van Gurp of Rijen.

    Record 154 women from 27 European Tenpin Bowling Federation member federations have announced to participate in the event. Maximum six players per federation will bowl for gold, silver and bronze medals in five disciplines, Doubles, Trios, Team, All Events and Masters match play.

    Click here to download Bulletin No. 1 (pdf file)

    The Team finals and the semifinals and final of the Masters competition will be staged in an arena-style setting provided by sponsoring partners QubicaAMF and Bowling Repair Services (BRS) as well as Ebonite International.


    Related Articles

    Israel names teams for 2012 Women's and Men's European Championships