Denmark starts Men's European Championships with victory in Doubles


    2012 MEC Austria

    Thomas Larsen & Mik Stampe defeat top-seeded Swedes Robert Andersson & Martin Paulsson in the gold medal match; England and Germany share the bronze medal

    2012MECLogo2.jpg In a title match between the top two qualifiers, Thomas Larsen and Mik Stampe of Denmark defeated top-seeded Robert Andersson and Martin Paulsson of Sweden, 392-385, to capture the first gold medal of the fifth Men's European Championships Monday evening at Plus Bowling in Vienna, Austria.

    All four players bowled games in the 190s. The Danes (Larsen 198, Stampe 194) topped their Swedish opponents (Andersson 193, Paulsson 192) by seven pins to seal the victory. It was the first gold medal for Denmark in Doubles in five MEC events.

    The Swedes, both world champions in Doubles (Andersson 2006, Paulsson 2010) had to settle for the silver medal.

    Both teams rolled much higher games in the semifinals with the Swedes defeating No. 4 seed Germany with Marco Baade and Bodo Konieczny, 445-384, while the Danes fired an even bigger game to defeat England's Raymond Teece and Matt Miller, 474-403. The semifinal losers shared the bronze medal.

    Action shifts to the Trios event on Tuesday and Wednesday. The medal round of four will take place on Wednesday, Aug. 22 starting at 8 p.m. CEST.

      The 5th Men's European Championships will be held from Aug. 16-26, 2012 at Plus Bowling in Vienna, Austria. 204 players from 34 countries will bowl for gold, silver and bronze medals in Doubles, Trios, Teams, All Events (24-game total) and Masters.

    Preliminaries in Doubles will feature 12 games, in Trios and the five-player Team event six games, with the top 4 teams advancing to the playoffs. No. 1 will bowl No. 4 and No. 3 will bowl No. 2 in the semifinals. The winners will bowl for the title while the losers share the bronze medal. All matches were single-game matches.

    The top 24 players in All Events will advance to the Masters finals in best-of-three games single-elimination match play, which will conclude the championships on Saturday, Aug. 25. The championships features two oil conditioning pattern, number 1 is the medium pattern (38') and number two is the long pattern (44').
    Kegel LaneMap™ Guide Plus Bowling in Vienna, Austria - Aug. 15, 2012 (PDF file, 1.5 MB)

    The MEC also serves as qualifying event for the 2013 Combined World Championships which will be held from Aug. 18-31 at Sunset Station's Strike Zone bowling center in Henderson, Nev. in suburban Las Vegas, United States.

    Each country receives ranking points in each discipline according to a system decided by the European Tenpin Bowling Federation Congress in 2011. The top 15 countries qualify for the 2013 Combined World Championships.


    Related Articles

    Andersson, Paulsson earn No. 1 seed for MEC Doubles finals
    Swedes Robert Andersson & Martin Paulsson lead in Doubles after Day Two Preliminaries
    England's Mike Quarry, John Wells set the pace in Doubles after Day One Preliminaries
    5th Men's European Championships starts tomorrow with official practice
    Men's European Championships Past Champions
    34 countries to participate in the fifth Men's European Championships in Austria
    2011 MEC in Unterföhring, Germany
    2009 MEC in Aalborg, Denmark
    2007 MEC in Vienna, Austria
    2005 MEC in Moscow, Russia


    2012 Men's European Championships - Doubles Finals

    Championship Round:
    1. Denmark (Thomas Larsen, Mik Stampe)
    2. Sweden (Robert Andersson, Martin Paulsson)
    3. England (Raymond Teece, Matt Miller) and Germany (Marco Baade, Bodo Konieczny)

    Playoff Results:
    Semifinal Match 1: No. 1 Sweden (Andersson 221, Paulsson 224) def.
    No. 4 Germany (Baade 192, Konieczny 192), 445-384
    Semifinal Match 2: No. 2 Denmark (Larsen 247, Stampe 227) def.
    No. 3 England (Teece 181, Miller 222), 474-403
    Championship: No. 2 Denmark (Larsen 198, Stampe 194) def.
    No. 1 Sweden (Andersson 193, Paulsson 192), 392-385.


    Men's European Championships - Doubles Champions

    2012 Denmark (Thomas Larsen, Mik Stampe)
    2011 Sweden (Karl Wahlgren, Dennis Eklund)
    2009 Finland (Osku Palermaa, Petteri Salonen)
    2007 Austria (Thomas Tybl, Thomas Gross)
    2005 Finland (Jari Ratia, Petteri Salonen)