Team USA and Finland to bowl again for the Men's Team gold at the World Championships


    2013 World Championships

    Defending champion USA meet the Finns in a re-match of the 2010 World Championships finals


    In 2010, the Team USA men (pictured left) won the third consecutive team gold medal, defeating Finland 1073 to 1057 in dramatic fashion at the World Tenpin Bowling Association Men's World Championships in Munich, Germany.

    On Thursday evening, The United States defeated Denmark and Finland topped Korea to set up a re-match for the team gold medal at the 2013 World Championships in Henderson, Nev.

    2013WCMensTeamDEN.jpgJohn Janawicz, Mike Fagan, Bill O'Neill, Tommy Jones and Chris Barnes had chosen the oil pattern (39-feet Seoul) but trailed Denmark's Jimmy Mortensen, Frederik √ėhrgaard, Mik Stampe, Carsten Warming Hansen and Thomas Larsen (pictured right) after four frames.

    Tides turned when the remaining three players from the 2010 team, O'Neill, Jones and Barnes started to strike.

    Jones reeled off four consecutive strikes in frames 5-8, O'Neill had a four-bagger in frames 6-9, and Barnes followed two open frames in the second and third by a six-bagger to overtake the Danes and to advance to Friday's finals with a 1050-973 win.

    2013WCMensTeamKOR.jpgIt was no surprise that the top seeded Korean's Choi Bok-Eum, Cho Young-Seon, Shin Seung-Hyeon, Park Jong-Woo and Kim Jun-Yung (pictured left) had chosen the short pattern (33-feet Sydney) against No. 4 seed Finland. The Koreans were targeting to improve on a second-place finish in the 2008 World Championships in Bangkok, Thailand, where they lost the title match against USA (with Jones and Barnes) in one-player, ninth-and-10th frame roll-off after a 1084-1084 tie.

    2013WCMensTeamFIN.jpgHowever, Finland's Perttu Jussila, Tony Ranta, Petteri Salonen, Pasi Uotila and Osku Palermaa (pictured right) had other plans and defeated the Koreans, 1101-976, to set up a title match against the U.S.

    Uotila led the effort 267 game and was followed by Ranta (248), Jussila (199), Salonen (199) and Palermaa (188). The five some target to win the first team gold for Finland since the 1983 World Championships in Caracas, Venezuela.

    Please note: In a schedule change, the women's and men's team championship matches, originally scheduled to start on Friday, August 30, at 12.45 and 2.30 p.m. PDT, respectively, will start immediately following the Masters finals.

    Bowlingdigital's Photo Album 1
    Bowlingdigital's Photo Album 2

    2013WCLogo.jpg The World Tenpin Bowling Association World Championships run from Aug. 16 thru 31, 2013 at Sunset Station's Strike Zone in Henderson, Nev. in the Las Vegas area. The Championships will award medals in six disciplines - Singles, Doubles, Trios, Team, All Events and Masters.

    The entire competition will be broadcast live on's BowlTV. Bowling fans will be able to watch live and on demand for free. The schedule is available at


    Related Articles

    United States, Korea advance to the gold medal match in Women's Team event
    Korea's Kim Moon-Jeong, USA's Chris Barnes earn the No. 1 seed for the Masters finals
    Two-time World Champions Ryu, Barnes in pole position after first round of Masters competition
    U.S. women earn the No. 1 seed for the Team finals; Shannon O'Keefe claims gold in All-Events
    Korean men earn the No. 1 seed for the Team finals; Chris Barnes wins gold in All-Events
    Korean women take the lead in five-player Team event and All-Events
    Women's Team Photos from the five-player Team event
    Women's high definition video focusing on the various releases
    Venezuelan men average 219 to take the lead as five-player Team event reaches halfway mark
    Men's Team Photos from the five-player Team event
    Men's high definition video focusing on the various releases
    Korea comes from behind in dramatic fashion to win gold in Women's Trios
    Canadian women overtake Korea and Sweden to take the lead in Women's Trios
    Canadians Buffa, Lavoie, Girard defeat USA and Korea to win gold in Men's Trios
    Canadians take the lead in Men's Trios as Squad 2 finishes second round of qualifying
    Korea, Chinese Taipei and Singapore continue to lead Women's Trios event
    Asian countries dominate the first squad of the Women's Trios event
    O'Neill, Jones and Barnes hold on to the lead as Men's Trios event reaches halfway mark
    Slow motion video of the women's players' releases, ball motion and pin action
    Team USA's O'Neill, Jones and Barnes set the tone in Men's Trios at World Championships
    USA's Nation/O'Keefe beat team mates Kulick/Parkin to win the gold medal in Women's Doubles
    Venezuela's Marcano sisters average 240 to take the lead in Women's Doubles
    Slow motion video of the men's players' releases, ball motion and pin action
    Team USA's Szczerbinski and Barnes shoot 569 to cruise to the Doubles gold
    Team USA's Barnes, Szczerbinski in top qualifying position after Doubles Squad 1
    Korea's Ryu Seo-Yeon defeats Chinese Taipei's spinners to win Women's Singles title
    Chinese Taipei spinner Wang Ya-Ting is the early leader in Women's Singles
    Bill O'Neill starts 2013 WTBA World Championships with victory in Men's Singles
    Bodo Konieczny sets the pace in Men's Singles at the 2013 Bowling World Championships
    2013 World Championships kick off Sunday with the Official Practice
    Strike Gold Celebrity Challenge helps usher in 2013 World Championships
    Photos from World Championships opening ceremony
    Championship Preview
    More Stories


    Men's Team Semifinals

    World Championships - Men's Team Finals

    Championship Round:
    1. tbd
    2. tbd
    3. Korea (Choi Bok-Eum, Cho Young-Seon, Shin Seung-Hyeon, Park Jong-Woo, Kim Jun-Yung), 976 (1 game)
    4. Denmark (Jimmy Mortensen, Frederik √ėhrgaard, Mik Stampe, Carsten Warming Hansen, Thomas Larsen), 973 (1 game)

    Playoff Results:
    Semifinal Match 1 (short oil):
    No. 4 Jussila (199), Ranta (248), Salonen (199), Uotila (267), Palermaa (188) def.
    No. 1 Bok-Eum (181), Young-Seon (203), Seung-Hyeon (176), Jong-Woo (213), Jun-Yung (203), 1101-976
    Semifinal Match 2 (long oil):
    No. 2 Janawicz (205), Fagan (204), O'Neill (193), Jones (223), Barnes (225) def.
    No. 3 Mortensen (198), √ėhrgaard (156), Stampe (226), Hansen (191), Larsen (202), 1050-973
    Championship Match (Friday, August 30, at 2.30 p.m. PDT): United States vs. Finland.