Lisanne Breeschooten adds her name to the leaderboard in Tilburg


    2014 European Bowling Tour #3

    Dutch national team member leads Squad 4 with 1393 total to leap into fourth place; top 6 players after the first four squads are automatically qualified for Sunday's finals; cut for 36th place is now 1278 (213 average)

    2014EBT03LisanneBreeschooten2.jpg2014EBT03JohnnySpil.jpgLisanne Breeschooten (pictured left), Netherlands, totaled 1393 pins in the fourth of 14 qualifying squads Tuesday evening at Dolfijn Bowling Tilburg in Tilburg, Netherlands, to add her name to the leaderboard in the Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament.

    The Dutch women's national team member rolled games of 196, 246, 204, 206, 279 and 214 for 1345 scratch, an average of 224.17, and added 48 pins women's handicap to tie third-place Johnny Spil (right), Netherlands, at 1393.

    Breeschooten took over fourth place due to her lower last game, 248-214 in Spil's favor. By sitting in the top 6 after four squads, Breeschooten is automatically qualified for Sunday's finals if she doesn't finish in the top 36.

    2014EBT03JeanMarcLebon.jpg2014EBT03MarawanAernoudt.jpgBelgium's Jean-Marc Lebon (left) and Marawan Aernoudt (right) remained atop the 94-player leaderboard with 1483 and 1434, respectively.

    Breeschooten's compatriot Jeroen van der Heide was second in Squad 4 with 1390 including games of 245, 171, 257, 235, 234 and 248 (231.67 average) to jump into fifth place. Rounding out the top 6 was Mats Maggi of Belgium with 1388.

    If the top six players finish in the top 36 at the end of the qualifying, the next players from the separate standings after four squads will take advantage.

    Former EBT point ranking winner Gery Verbruggen of Belgium is the man "on the bubble" in 36th place to with 1278 or an average of 213.

    Qualifying continues Wednesday, February 26, with Squad 5 scheduled to start at 8 p.m. CET.



    The Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2014 is the third stop of the 2014 European Bowling Tour and the first of four EBT "Silver" tournaments, the third-highest of four EBT categories. The tournament will be held from Sunday, Feb. 23, through Sunday, March 2, at 20-lane Dolfijn Bowling in Tilburg, Netherlands.

    Players will compete for total prize money of 44.400 Euro with 6.000 Euro going to the winner, 4.000 to the runner-up and 3.000 and 2.000 to third and fourth place finishers, respectively. Low to cash is 46th place (400 Euro).

    Qualifying runs through Saturday, March 1 with the final qualifying Squad 14 scheduled for 6 p.m. CET, followed by the ultimate one-game Desperado Squad slated for 9.30 p.m. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300), a standard on the European Bowling Tour.

    A total of 46 players - the top 36 qualifiers, the top 4 from the Desperado Squad and the top 6 from a separate leaderboard of Squads 1-4 conducted Feb. 23-25 - will advance to the finals on Sunday, March 2. The top 6 qualifiers will receive one bye. The winner of the qualifying receives a 1.000 Euro bonus.

    Players ranked 7 to 46 will bowl four games with the top 18 players joining the top six qualifiers in the eliminator finals. Those 24 players will be divided into six groups of four players each for the first of four eliminator rounds.

    All four players of each group will bowl a two-game match with the two lowest scoring players eliminated. The two highest scoring players advance to the next round. In the first round four "lucky losers" (four highest third-place finishers) also advance.

    2014EBTMastersLogo.jpg The field will be cut to 16, eight and then four players who will bowl a final two-game round to determine the champion.

    2014EBTLogo_small.jpg After the 2014 Brunswick Italia Challenge has been cancelled, the 2014 European Bowling Tour features 20 tournaments in 14 countries. In its 15th season, the EBT consists of two Platinum, six Gold, three Silver and nine Satellite tournaments. The total prize fund exceeds one million Euro.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will compete in the eighth EBT Masters July 6, 2015 in Asti, Italy.



    Related Articles

    Dutch Johnny Spil moves into third place at Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament
    Belgian bowlers set the tone on Qualifying Day One at Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2014
    Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2014 Tournament Preview
    Thomas Larsen wins his third EBT title in Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2013
    2014 European Bowling Tour - Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2014 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women



    Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2014 - Qualifying Standings after Squad 4/14