Live Coverage of the 2014 Men's World Championships in Abu Dhabi, UAE


    2014 MWC

    49 countries to participate in the championships which takes place at Khalifa International Bowling Center December 4-15

    2014MWCLogo2.jpg The 2014 World Tenpin Bowling Association Men's World Championships will be held from December 4-15 at 40-lane Khalifa International Bowling Center in Zayed Sports City, Abu Dhabi, UAE.

    After Indonesia's and Nigeria's withdrawal, 49 countries will participate and have nominated 273 players for the event which counts as a "major" on the 2015 World Bowling Tour.

    The Asian Bowling Federation (ABF) will be represented by 21 countries followed by the European Tenpin Bowling Federation (ETBF) with 20 countries while only 8 countries are coming from the Pan American Bowling Confederation (PABCON), in part due to a scheduling clash with to the Central American & Caribbean Games which to be held Nov. 14-30 in Veracruz, Mexico.

    BowlingdigitalBanner.gif Bowlingdigital will cover the 2014 Men's World Championships live from Khalifa International Bowling Center in Abu Dhabi featuring reports, results and photos. On-site coverage will commence Thursday, Dec. 4 with the Opening Ceremonies all the way through to the Masters finals on Sunday, Dec. 14.

    2011WTBALogo.jpg The Championships, hosted by WTBA, the Emirates Bowling Federation and Zayed Sports City, is open to all WTBA Member Federations who are currently paid up members of World Bowling, WTBA and their respective zone (PABCON, ETBF, and ABF).

    Maximum six men per country will compete for gold, silver and bronze medals in Singles, Doubles, Trios, five-player Teams, All-Events and Masters in the 9-day competition (Dec. 6-14).

    2014MWCBowlingCenter1.jpgKhalifa International Bowling Center, UAE's national bowling facility, is located at Zayed Sports City (click image to enlarge). The venue was built for the 1999 World Championships and has hosted other sanctioned tournaments such as the World Bowling Ranking Masters, Asian Tenpin Bowling Championships and the Ramadan Bowling Tournament.

    Nearly 1,000 spectators will be able to sit and enjoy the Men's World Championships at the 40-lane center which also features two pro shops, three restaurants and a billiard room.

    2013WSrCMariosNicolaides.jpg2014WYCWorldBowlingPresidentKevinDornberger.jpg In accordance with the WTBA Playing Rules, the 2014 Men's World Championships will be contested on two lane conditioning pattern. Technical Delegate Marios Nicolaides (pictured left) of Cyprus will choose a long and a medium pattern from the World Bowling bank of patterns.

    The specific lane patterns within the two categories will be announced at the Team Managers' Meeting on December 4. Immediately following the TMM will be an extra meeting for all federations in which World Bowling President and CEO, Kevin Dornberger (right), United States, will inform about ongoing activities in tenpin bowling's Olympic efforts.

    As of November 24, the following countries have registered:

    Asian Bowling Federation (ABF)
    21 - Australia, Bahrain, Egypt, Hong Kong, China, India, Iran, Iraq, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Kuwait, Macau, China, Malaysia, Pakistan, Philippines, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Taipei Chinese, Uzbekistan and host United Arab Emirates.

    European Tenpin Bowling Federation (ETBF)
    20 - Belarus, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Romania, Russia, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, and Wales.

    Pan American Bowling Confederation (PABCON)
    8 - Bermuda, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Mexico, Puerto Rico, and United States.

    For more information please read our related articles or download the Bulletins and Forms here:
    2014 MWC Bulletin No. 3
    2014 MWC Bulletin No. 2
    2014 MWC Bulletin No. 1
    2014 MWC Form A-H

    Because the official hotel Centro Capital Centre has no more double rooms and the room rate presented in the Bulletins is not valid any longer and a second official hotel Premier Inn is now available.
    2014 MWC Premier Inn Hotel Booking Form

    2014MWCLogo2.jpg The Abu Dhabi MWC are the fourth World Championships for men only since the world's governing body for the sport of tenpin bowling has decided at the WTBA congress in the year 2003 to split the men's and women's events .

    The 2006 MWC took place in Busan, Korea, and was followed by Bangkok, Thailand (2008) and Munich, Germany (2010). In 2012, the WTBA switched back to a four-year cycle which allowed the organization to add a new World Singles Championships (2012; Limassol, Cyprus) and a combined World Championships for men and women (2013; Las Vegas, USA) to its schedule.

    The women will return to Abu Dhabi for the 2015 Women's World Championships (Nov. 17-28). The second World Singles Championships will be held in Doha, Qatar (Dec. 4-11, 2016) while the host of the second combined World Championships in 2017 has not been decided yet.


    Related Articles

    WTBA publishes Bulletin No. 3 for the 2014 Men's World Championships in Abu Dhabi (UAE)
    World Bowling finalizes invitation strategy for Abu Dhabi World Championships
    Team USA squad for Men's World Championships selected
    2014 Men's World Championships Preview
    Bulletin No. 2 for the 2014 Men's World Championships in Abu Dhabi (UAE) is out
    World Tenpin Bowling Association releases Bulletin No. 1 for 2014 Men's World Championships
    World Bowling celebrates industry wide support as it launches new brand
    2014 Men's World Championships change dates again


    2014 Men's World Championships - Revised Schedule of Events (as of Nov. 15, 2014)

    *Local Time is Gulf Standard Time (GST) - Central European Time (GST -3 hours), Eastern Standard Time (GST -9 hours) and Hong Kong Time (GST +4 hours).


    Participating Countries and Players (as of Nov. 24, 2014)