Norway's Glenn Morten Pedersen sets the early pace in the Singles preliminaries


    2014 MWC

    Pedersen leads the first of four squads with 1381 (230.17); Shogo Wada (JPN) uses 297 game to sit in second place with 1371; Korea's Shin Seunghyeon and Kang Heewon are tied for third place at 1367


    2014MWCShogoWada.jpgGlenn Morten Pedersen (pictured left) of Norway averaged 230.17 for six games to lead the opening qualifying squad in the Singles competition as the Men's World Championships got underway Saturday morning at Khalifa International Bowling Center in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

    Pedersen rolled games of 231, 234, 258, 218, 213 and 227 to lead the 66 players and to set the early pace in the event with 1381 pinfall total.

    Trailing Pedersen by mere ten pins to sit in second place was Asian Games Trios champion Shogo Wada of Japan (right), who started his 1371 series (228.50 average) with 235, 209, 187 and 225 before he flirted with perfection in game five leaving the 3-6-9 combination on his final shot for 297. He rocketed into second place and maintained the position with 218 final game.

    2014MWCKangHeewonShinSeunghyeon.jpg2014MWCSinglesSquad1Top4.jpgWith three more squads to go, Koreans Shin Seunghyeon and Kang Heewon (pictured left, r-l) were tied for third place at 1367 (227.83). Seunghyeon had six games between 210 and 243 and Heewon had a high game of 267 and a low game of 210.

    In case they will finish in the top four (right), who will advance to the playoffs on Sunday afternoon, a one-ball roll-off would be played to break the tie.

    2014MWCAdrianAng.jpg2014MWCKimmoLehtonen.jpgAll other players in Squad 1 are already out of the race for the Singles medals. Adrian Ang (left) of Malaysia was fifth with 1351 and was followed by Kimmo Lehtonen (right; 1348) of Finland, who won silver in Doubles when the World Championships visited Abu Dhabi in 1999.

    Cheng Hsing-Chao of Chinese Taipei, who took the lead after three games with 256 and 279, had to settle for seventh place with 1328 after finishing with back-to-back games in the 190s. PBA Player of the Year (2011-2012 season) Sean Rash, United States, was the eighth and last player who surpassed the 1300-mark with 1310.

    Bowlers of Squad 2 and 3 will bowl their six games this afternoon starting a 13.30 and 18.00 local time (GST) with Squad 4 to follow on Sunday morning at 9.00 after which the field will be cut to the top 4, who will advance to the playoffs.

    No. 1 will bowl No. 4 and No. 2 meets No. 3 in a one-game semi-final match. The winners bowl for gold and silver while the losers share the bronze medal.

    2014MWCLogo2.jpg 2014WorldBowlingLogo.jpg The 2014 World Tenpin Bowling Association Men's World Championships will be held from December 4-15 at 40-lane Khalifa International Bowling Center in Zayed Sports City, Abu Dhabi, UAE. 272 players from 49 countries participate in the event.

    The Championships, hosted by World Bowling Tenpin, the Emirates Bowling Federation and Zayed Sports City, is open to all WTBA Member Federations who are currently paid up members of World Bowling and their respective zone (PABCON, ETBF, and ABF).

    Maximum six men per country compete for gold, silver and bronze medals in Singles, Doubles, Trios, five-player Teams, All-Events and Masters in the 9-day competition (Dec. 6-14).

    BowlingdigitalBanner.gif Bowlingdigital will provide on-site coverage from Khalifa International Bowling Center in Abu Dhabi including reports, photos and results starting with the Singles event all the way through to the Masters finals on Sunday, Dec. 14.

    2014BowlTVLogo_small.jpg The United States Bowling Congress provides live streaming of the entire event on BowlTV. Live Scoring can be found on the official Website and on the website of World Bowling

    2014MWCAtlanta38.jpg 2014MWCTokyo43.jpg In accordance with the World Bowling Tenpin Playing Rules, the 2014 Men's World Championships will be contested on two lane conditioning pattern, the 38 ft. Atlanta pattern and the 43 ft. Tokyo pattern, a medium and a long pattern from the World Bowling bank of patterns.

    The Championships are the fourth World Championships for men only since the world's governing body for the sport of tenpin bowling has decided at the WTBA congress in the year 2003 to split the men's and women's events .

    The 2006 MWC took place in Busan, Korea (on 33 ft. Sydney and 43 ft. Tokyo pattern), and was followed by Bangkok, Thailand in 2008 (on 34 ft. Stockholm and 43 ft. Tokyo pattern) and Munich, Germany in 2010 (38 ft. Atlanta and 43 ft. Tokyo pattern).


    Related Articles

    Live Coverage of the 2014 Men's World Championships
    Championships Preview and more related articles


    2014 Men's World Championships - Singles Standinsg after Squad 1/4

    Top 4 will advance to the playoffs.