Israel announces team for Men's European Championships 2015 in Aalborg, Denmark


    2015 MEC

     The Israel Bowling Federation has announced the six players who will represent Israel in the 2015 Men's European Championships, which will be held from June 3-14 at Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark.

    The qualifying tournament at Hutzot bowling center in Haifa featured a 38-game format over six days including four six-game series, two on medium oil and two on long oil, and another two seven-game series on dual lane condition (one lane with long oil, the other lane with medium oil).

    L-R Back row: Ofer Sadeh (General Secretary of IBF and Tournament Director), Or Aviram, Moshe Shinman, Aviv Alfital and Arie Fisher (IBF President); front row: Israel Taner, Omer Nehushtan and Ido Sharet. Click image to enlarge.

    The top four players of the qualifier earned automatic spots on the 2015 team. The top 4 with position, club and 38-game average were:

    1. Aviv Alfital (Nesher) - 198.37
    2. Ido Sharet (Ramat Gan) - 197.42
    3. Israel Taner (Hertzelia) - 196.76
    4. Moshe Shinman (Nesher) - 196.71

    According to the rules of the Israeli National Team Ranking, the top two players in the ranking earn a spot on the team if they finish in the top 12 of the qualifying tournament.

    Ranking leaders Omer Nehushtan (Super-strike) and Or Aviram (Nesher) averaged 192.11 and 191.55 to finish the qualifier in eight and ninth place, respectively, good enough to make the team for the MEC.