Norway, Sweden name their teams for Men's European Championships in Germany


    2011 MEC


    The head coaches of Norway and Sweden have named their teams for the Men's European Championships to be held at Dream-Bowl Palace in Unterföhring Germany in June.

    Competition runs from June 13 through 18, 2011. Medals will be given in Doubles, Trios, Team, All Events and Masters. 205 men from 35 member federations of the European Tenpin Bowling Federation are expected to participate.

    Both coaches have changed their roster on two positions since the 2010 Men's World Championships, which was contested in the same center.

    2008MWCMadsSandbakkenMatsKarlssonToreTorgersen.jpgNorway's Mats Karlsson, a four-time PBA champion from Sweden, has announced the return of former anchor Petter Hansen, the defending MEC All Events champion, and Glenn Morten Pedersen. They will be joined by World and European champion Tore Torgersen, 2007 MEC Masters champion Mads Sandb√¶kkken, Bj√łrn Einar Rudshagen and Svein √Öke Ek.

    Pictured right: Mats Karlsson (center) with Mads Sandbækkken (left) and Tore Torgersen (right).

    2009BWCTomasLeandersson.jpgTomas Leandersson (pictured left), the most decorated Swedish player of all time, has added two rookies to his team. 20-year-old Johan Helldén and 31-year-old Karl Wahlgren will make their first appearances on the Tre Kronor team.

    They will be joined by multiple team and Doubles World champions Robert Andersson and Martin Larsen, reigning Doubles World champion Martin Paulsson, and Dennis Eklund.

    "It is a team with a mixture of experience and youth. I expect that we will win medals in Munich," Leandersson said. "We have a three-year-plan which will take us to the World Championships in Las Vegas in 2013. Hopefully we are now creating stronger competition within our team as there are several strong players who were not considered this time. But I expect them to continue their efforts to make a come back on our national team",


    Related Articles

    Israel announces teams for Munich MEC and Hong Kong WWC