2nd World Ranking Masters


    2002 WRM

    Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark (May 26-30, 2002)

    2002WRMLogo.jpg The second annual World Ranking Masters will take place at Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark, May 26 through 30, 2002. The top eight men and the top eight women qualifiers from the 2001 ranking events in each of the three WTBA zones, America, Asia and Europe, plus the host country's male representative will face each other to determine the 2002 WTBA World Ranking Masters champion. The winners earn $8,000 each.

    The inaugural event was held in Abu Dhabi, UAE, last year, with the Asian bowlers dominating in both divisions. Sunny Hui of Hong Kong and Jesmine Ho from Singapore earned the titles. Check here for our live tournament coverage commencing Monday, May 27 through to the finals on Wednesday, May 29, 2002.

    Pictured here are the men's ranking leaders Daniel Falconi, Mexico (America), Wu Siu Hong, Hong Kong, (Asia) and Gery Verbruggen, Belgium (Europe).

    2002 World Ranking Masters - Schedule of Events

     Sunday, May 26, 2002
    Arrival, Voluntarily Ball check

    Monday, May 27, 2002
    09.00 - Voluntarily Ball check
    09.00 - Official practice
    11.00 - Player briefing
    10.30 - Opening Ceremony
    13.00 - Lane maintenance
    14.00 - Women Games 1-8
    17.00 - Lane maintenance
    18.00 - Men Games 1-8

    Tuesday, May 28, 2002
    08.00 - Lane maintenance
    09.00 - Women Games 9-16
    12.00 - Lane maintenance
    13.00 - Men Games 9-16
    16.00 - Lane maintenance
    17.00 - Women Games 17-24
    20.00 - Lane maintenance
    21.00 - Men Games 17-24

    Wednesday, May 29, 2002
    08.00 - Lane maintenance
    09.00 - Quarter-finals (men and women)
    10.30 - Semi-finals (men and women)
    12.00 - Lane maintenance
    13.00 - Women's Final
    14.30 - Men's Final
    16.30 - Award Ceremony
    20.00 - Players Party

    Thursday, May 30, 2002

    2002 World Ranking Masters - Prize Fund

    Total prize money for both divisions: $50.000

    Prize money is equal for men and women:
    First place: $8.000
    Second place: $5.000
    3rd-4th place: $2.500
    5th-8th place: $1.000
    Highest block - games 1-8: $1.000
    Highest block - games 9-16: $1.000
    Highest block - games 17-24: $1.000

    2002 World Ranking Masters - Men's Division

    American Zone:
    Daniel Falconi, Mexico; Tony Manna, USA; Andres Gomez, Columbia; Jose V. Lander, Venezuela; Rolando Antonio Sebelen, Dominican Republic; Frankie Colon Jr., Puerto Rico; David Romero, Columbia; Alejandro Cruz, Mexico

    Asian Zone:
    Wu Siu Hong, Hong Kong; Remy Ong, Singapore; Ahmed Shaheen, Qatar; Chester King, Philippines; Ben Heng, Malaysia; Tseng Sheng Hsien, Chinese Taipei; Saeed Al-Hajri, Qatar; Bandar Al-Shafi, Qatar

    European Zone:
    Gery Verbruggen, Belgium; Tore Torgersen, Norway; Anders Öhman, Sweden; Toni Laine, Finland; Petri Mannonen, Finland; Patrick Backe, Sweden; Peter Ahlen, Sweden; Mika Luoto, Finland; Michael Bai, Denmark.

    2002 World Ranking Masters - Women's Division

    American Zone:
    Michelle Ayala, Puerto Rico; Clara Juliana Guerrero, Colombia; Aumi Guerra, Dominican Republic; Ingellimar Contreras, Venezuela; Sofia Granda, Guatamala; Diandra Hyman, USA; Cristina Kortright, Puerto Rico; Karen Marcano, Venezuela

    Asian Zone: Shalin Zulkifli, Malaysia; Cecilia Yap, The Philippines; Lisa Del Rosario, Philippines; Jennifer Tan, Singapore; Wendy Chai, Malaysia; Lai Kin Ngoh, Malaysia; Tseng Su Feng, Chinese Taipei; Jesmine Ho, Singapore

    European Zone:
    Bettina Lund, Denmark; Martina Beckel, Germany; Kirsten Penny, England; Linda Haglund, Sweden; Iben Tchu, Denmark; Tanya Petty, Germany; Andrea Mirschel, Germany; Piritta Kantola, Finland.