Åsa Larsson names players for Women's European Championships



    Asa_Larsson_5714.jpg Helen_Johnsson_4908.jpg Swedish women's national team coach Åsa Larsson (left) has named the players for the 1st Women's European Championships to be held at Dream-Bowl in Böblingen, Germany, August 24 through September 3, 2006.
    The team for Böblingen is headed by 3-time Swedish champion and World Ranking Masters bronze medalist Helén Johnsson (right).

    She will be joined by Diana Alfredsson, Christel Carlsson, Nina Flack, Malin Glendert, and Anna Mattsson-Baard.

    Larsson, 43, is a WBW International Bowling Hall of Famer, who has won numerous medals in World and European Championships as well as international titles such as the AMF World Cup and the Ballmaster Open. She signed a contract with the Swedish Bowling Federation in 2005 through the European Championships 2006.

    Sten-Ake Nilsson, chairman of the Swedish Bowling Federation's elite committee, said that the committee is "aiming at a long-term relationship with Åsa".

    Information courtesy of Hans Karlsson, press officer of the Swedish Bowling Federation.