Canada's Schmidt, Wong en route to France for the 2010 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup



    2010BWCCANNCMichaelSchmidt.jpg2005 Bowling World Cup champion Michael Schmidt (pictured left) of Tyndall, Manitoba, and Calgary, Alberta's Felicia Wong are days away from their next opportunity to represent Canada in the bowling world's annual gathering of nations, the QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup, which kicks off October 17th in Toulon, France.

    Toulon will mark Schmidt's fifth World Cup appearance in six years. In Ljubljana, Slovenia (2005), his first World Cup performance, Schmidt's drive and confidence powered him to victory as he took on the world's best and came out on top, attaining Canada's first World Cup men's title since Scarborough's Ray Mitchell won the title in 1972, ending Canada's 33 year drought.

    After qualifying to represent Canada at the BWC again in 2006 he remained a force to be reckoned with, finishing third in Caracas, Venezuela. 2007 saw Schmidt in his third consecutive appearance at the World Cup, this time in St. Petersburg, Russia, arriving hungry for a second taste of the world title.

    Though he bowled extremely well, Schmidt was left with a fourth place finish, just missing out on the last cut and the opportunity to climb the stepladder final to the title match. Last year at the 2009 BWC in Malaysia,

    Schmidt made the show and managed the runner-up spot, finishing second…. the count so far has him at 4 trips to the Bowling World Cup with each performance finishing in the top 5. No doubt this powerhouse has his heart set on a second World Cup title, and he has every intention of coming through in Toulon.

    2010PWCFeliciaWong.jpgJoining Schmidt in France will be another shining example of Canada's next generation of world class bowlers. Felicia Wong (pictured right)  just returned from the PABCON (Pan American Bowling Confederation) Championships where, she claimed the gold medal in the Trios event as part of the three-woman Canadian Team.

    Even as a youth bowler Wong has had international success. The FIQ Youth American Zone Championships saw her claim both the Singles and All Events championships back in 2006. And of course she's had plenty of experience and success in Canada, both in the adult and youth ranks.

    2009BWCCANFinalsSchmidtLagrangeLowe.jpgUSBC Silver Level coach Sandra Lowe (pictured left with Schmidt and Caroline Lagrange at the 2009 BWC) of Lindsay, Ontario, will accompany this young pair to Toulon and lend her expertise and experience to this strong Canadian Team. Lowe coached Michael through his 2005 World Cup and his World Title. She was also coach in 2003 when Mississauga's Kerrie Ryan-Ciach won the women's World Cup title in Honduras and again last year as Montreal's Caroline Lagrange captured Canada's 8th BWC title in Malaysia.

    Sounding both excited and optimistic Sandra claims …. "Both (international events) that Mike and Felicia have been in recently have provided an excellent tune up for the World Cup. We look forward to a successful showing in France".

    Schmidt and Wong qualified for the BWC via impressive performances at the Canadian National Finals of the World Cup, which were held this past March at Fairview Lanes in St. Catharines, Ontario. The Nationals have been conducted annually by Bowl Canada since 1966 (men's division) and 1974 (women's division) as the Canadian qualifier for the QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup.

    Eight provincial champions in each of the men's and women's divisions, along with defending champs from last year, battled for the Canadian titles and a trip to Toulon.

    The 46th Annual edition of this premiere world event will be held October 16th to 23rd at Bowling De Provence in Toulon on the French Riviera. Opening Ceremonies take place Sunday, October 17th.

    The Bowling World Cup is bowling's largest annual international sports competition in the world in terms of number of participating countries, typically reaching the plateau of 90 participating nations from around the globe each year.

    Canada now has eight Bowling World Cup titles and claims the second most wins in World Cup history. The United States leads all nations for number of world titles with 17.


    Related Articles

    Preview of the 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
    Team USA's Dorin-Ballard, Szczerbinski ready to tackle World Cup
    Hulst; Sanders win NBF Bowling Tour Finals 2010 to represent Netherlands in the World Cup
    Rivera, Posadas earn Philippines' Bowling World Cup spots
    Ancarani, Manico cruise to victory in Swiss World Cup Qualifier
    Mizrahi, Aviram in the 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
    Zavjalova, VÄ“zis to represent Latvia at QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup in France
    Gablek, Kubalek win Austrian Bowling World Cup Qualifier
    Over 90 countries to participate in the 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
    46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup moves from Zagreb, Croatia, to Toulon, France
    Marcelo Suartz wins XIX Copa AMF Brazil to represent Brazil at 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
    MTV Party at Bowling 300 Zagreb, host of the 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
    46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup to be held in October in Zagreb, Croatia