IBMA announces eight nominees for men's and women's Collegiate Bowlers of the Year


    IBMA News

    Five international bowlers among the eight female nominees

    IBMALogo.jpgThe International Bowling Media Association (formerly Bowling Writers Association of America) has announced the sixteen nominees for the 2013 Collegiate Bowler of the Year.

    The committee, comprised of IBMA members who are bowling media and former college coaches, met on March 26, 2013 to determine the top eight male and female players eligible to receive the award.

    The female and male 2012 Collegiate Bowler of the Year were Jazreel Tan, Wichita State and Marshall Kent, Robert Morris-Illinois. Both players are in the running again this year. The nominees are as follows:

    Mike Conn, Morehead State
    Cameron Foster, William Penn
    Marshall Kent, Robert Morris-Illinois
    Kyle King, Robert Morris-Illinois
    Nick Kruml, Wisconsin-Whitewater
    Dan Lemiesz, Lindenwood
    Kyle Sherman, Lindenwood
    Chris Via, Notre Dame-Ohio

    Amanda Greene, Lindenwood
    Caitlin Hoffman, Robert Morris-Illinois
    Daria Kovalova (Ukraine), Wichita State
    Anggie Ramirez (Colombia), Maryland-Eastern Shore
    Tannya Roumimper (Indonesia), Wichita State
    Jazreel Tan (Singapore), Wichita State
    Katie Thornton, Webber International
    Diana Zavjalova (Latvia), Webber International

    The award winners will be announced at the Night of Champions banquet and reception on April 17, 2013 in Lincoln, Neb.

    The evening festivities will conclude with the announcement of the IBMA Bowlers of the Year as well as presentations to the National Collegiate Bowling Coaches Association (NCBA) All Americans, NCBCA Gordon Teigen Award winner (volunteer service to collegiate bowling) and NCBCA Kerm Helmer Coach of the Year Award.

    The IBMA (BWAA) Collegiate Bowler of the Year Award is given each season to the male and female bowlers who excel on the lanes in USBC officially certified tournament play. Players must have a cumulative 32 games in to be considered for the award.

    Many professional and high-ranking amateur bowlers have received the award which was established in 1987 to honor the sport's finest young players and bring media attention to college bowling.

    Notable past winners of the award include Kayla Bandy (2), Chris Barnes, Lynda Norry Barnes (2), Missy Bellinder Parkin, Josh Blanchard, Joe Ciccone, PJ Haggerty (3), Liz Johnson, Kelly Kulick (2), Dan MacLelland (2), Bill O'Neill (3), Shannon Pluhowsky and Rick Steelsmith.