Michael Tang, Daria Kovalova named Collegiate MVPs for 2014-15 Season


    USBC Collegiate



    San Jose State sophomore Michael Tang and Wichita State junior Daria Kovalova (pictured, l-r) were named Most Valuable Players for the 2014-15 college bowling season by the National Collegiate Bowling Coaches Association.

    Tang and Kovalova were honored Wednesday night with the rest of the All-Americans at the Night of Champions banquet held in conjunction with the 2015 XBowling Intercollegiate Team Championships, which starts Thursday at Northrock Lanes.

    The International Bowling Media Association also honored Tang and Kovalova with its players of the year awards.

    Tang led the country with a 221.6 average for 80 games while winning three individual titles. He also finished in the top five in the individual standings in 10 of the 13 events in which he competed.

    Joining Tang as first-team All-Americans are his brother Darren Tang of San Jose State, Nick Kruml of Wisconsin-Whitewater, Nick Pate of Midland and Francois Lavoie of Wichita State.

    Kovalova won three of the seven events she competed in this year en route to leading the country with a 213.6 average for 50 games.

    Kovalova is joined as a first team All-American by Sabrena Divis of Midland, Katelyn Simpson of Pikeville, Brittany Smith of Grand View and Shannon DeWitt of Wright State.

    Rookie of the Year honors went to Michael Coffey of Lindenwood and Sydney Brummett of Wichita State. Lindsey Wong of San Jose State was named the men's coach of the year, and Ron Damon of Pikeville was honored as the women's top coach.


    National Collegiate Bowling Coaches Association 2014-15 Men's All-Americans

    First team
    Michael Tang, San Jose State; Darren Tang, San Jose State; Nick Kruml, Wisconsin-Whitewater; Nick Pate, Midland; Francois Lavoie, Wichita State

    Second team
    Graham Fach, Urbana; Michael Coffey, Lindenwood; Ryan Zagar, Robert Morris-Illinois; AJ Johnson, McKendree; Russ Oviatt, Arizona State

    Honorable mention
    Ramon Hilferink, Webber International; Ben Pallardy, Lindenwood; Matt Kuba, Calumet; Justin Dunn, Webber International; Tylor Greene, Robert Morris-Illinois

    Most Valuable Player - Michael Tang, San Jose State
    Rookie of the Year - Michael Coffey, Lindenwood
    Kerm Helmer Coach of the Year - Lindsey Wong, San Jose State


    National Collegiate Bowling Coaches Association 2014-15 Women's All-Americans

    First team
    Daria Kovalova, Wichita State; Sabrena Divis, Midland; Katelyn Simpson, Pikeville; Brittany Smith, Grand View; Shannon DeWitt, Wright State

    Second team
    Brianna Larson, Pikeville; Rachael Albright, Ursuline; Destiny Harper, Emmanuel; Sydney Brummett, Wichita State; Stephanie Cieslewicz, Robert Morris-Illinois

    Honorable mention
    Thashaina Seraus, Maryland-Eastern Shore; Fallon Tallman, Pikeville; Stephanie Schwartz, Stephen F. Austin; Shelby Fromm, Pikeville, Kamilah Dammers, Webber International

    Most Valuable Player - Daria Kovalova, Wichita State
    Rookie of the Year - Sydney Brummett, Wichita State
    Kerm Helmer Coach of the Year - Ron Damron, Pikeville

    Gordon Teigen Meritorious Service Award - Nick Hoagland, Hoosier Classic/H2M Management


    International Bowling Media Association 2014-15 Collegiate Players of the Year

    Player of the Year
    Male - Michael Tang, San Jose State
    Female - Daria Kovalova, Wichita State

    Male - Michael Coffey, Lindenwood; Nick Kruml, Wisconsin-Whitewater; Francois Lavoie, Wichita State; Darren Tang, San Jose State
    Female - Shannon DeWitt, Wright State; Sabrena Divis, Midland; Katelyn Simpson, Pikeville; Brittany Smith, Grand View

    Honorable mention
    Male - Graham Fach, Urbana; AJ Johnson, McKendree; Nick Pate, Midland
    Female - Rachael Albright, Ursuline, Brianna Larson, Pikeville; Thashaina Seraus, Maryland Eastern Shore