Review Bowlingdigital's Live Coverage of the 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup


    2010 BWC

    Bowling de Provence in Toulon, France (Oct. 15-24, 2010)



    2010BWCMichaelSchmidt.jpg2010BWCAumiGuerra.jpgCanada's Michael Schmidt (pictured left) and Aumi Guerra (right) of the Dominican Republic claimed the men's and women's titles in the 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup which was contested from Oct. 15-23, 2010 at Bowling de Provence in Toulon, France.

    Due to severe structural problems with the ceiling of the bowling center, most of the competition of the second qualifying day was cancelled which resulted in a schedule and format change.

    The preliminaries consisted of 3 instead of four blocks, two blocks of 5 games and one block of 6 games, with the top 24 men and the top 24 women after 16 games (instead of 20) advancing to the intermediate round. The top 24 players bowled another 8 games with the pinfall total from the preliminaries being carried forward.

    2010BWCGyeMinYoung3.jpg2010BWCFionaBanks.jpgThe top 8 men and the top 8 women after 24 games bowled another 8 games round robin match play including one game position round (30 pins bonus for each victory). The top 3 men and the top 3 women after 32 games including bonus pins determined the champions in a best-of-three games stepladder final on Saturday Oct. 23.

    In the women's final, third-seeded Guerra swept No. 2 seed Fiona Banks (right), England, two-games-to-none, in the opening match and went on to defeat tournament leader Gye Min-Young (left), Korea, 2-1, by winning the final two games. Gye had a chance to lock up the title in the second game, but left a 4-7-10 split in the final frame. Guerra made history as it is the first World Cup ever title for the Dominican Republic.

    2010BWCMattMiller2.jpg2010BWCBiboyRivera3.jpgSchmidt captured his second Bowling World Cup title after winning the 2005 event in Ljubljaan, Slovenia in his BWC debut to became only the second man to win the coveted title more than once. Paeng Nepomuceno, Philippines, has won record four World Cup titles in 1996, '80, '92 and '96.

    Schmidt, the No. 3 seed, who has never finished lower than fifth and any of his five World Cups, swept No. 2 Biboy Rivera (right), Philippines, in the opening match and came back from a 1-0 deficit to beat top-seeded Matt Miller (left), England, in the title match, 2-1.

    2010BWCCountryAwardFionaBanksMattMiller.jpg2010BWCBigiManicoRobertoSilva.jpgSchmidt's victory was the fourth by a Canadian man. Canada now has nine Bowling World Cup titles and claims the second most wins in World Cup history behind the United States (17).

    Each of the three WTBA zones, America, Europe and Asia, was represented in both finals. The players from the Pan American Bowling Confederation (PABCON), however, swept the gold medals while the players from Europe and Asia got one silver and one bronze medal, respectively.

    England has won the Bent Pedersen trophy for the top nation in the tournament with Miller in second place and Banks in third (pictured left). Bigi Manico, Switzerland and Roberto Silva, Mexico (pictured right) were voted Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Tournament by their peers.

    2010BWCBurakNatal.jpg2010BWCVanessaTimter3.jpgFor the first time since 1996 (Belfast, Ireland) there was no 300 game rolled in the World Cup. Burak Natal (left), Turkey, rolled the highest game of the men's division and the highest of the 46th BWC during the qualifying with 299.

    Vanessa Timter (right), Germany, posted the highest game in the women's division in the Round of 24 with 286.

    Record 167 players (91 men and record 76 women) from 92 countries bowl participated in this year's event. The total number of participants broke the previous record of 166 set in the 40th BWC in Singapore in 2004. The number of females bowlers broke the previous record of 73 set in Singapore, Caracas (2006) and St. Peters burgh (2007) .

    To review all live streaming broadcasts provided by please click here

    Related Photos

    Photo Album 1
    Photo Album 2
    Photo Album 3
    Photo Album 4


    Related Videos

    Video #6 Men's Championship:Third and deciding game
    Video #5 Women's Championship:Third and deciding game
    Video #4 High Def Slow Motion Studies (Men's Qualifying and Round of 24)
    Video #3 Women's and Men's Qualifying
    Video #2 Opening Ceremonies at Tour Royale, Toulon
    Video #1 Impressions from Bowling de Provence during the Women's Official Practice


    Related Articles

    Eurosport announces TV schedule for QubicaAMF World Cup finals
    Michael Schmidt wins his second QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup title
    Aumi Guerra comes from behind to win the 2010 Women's World Cup
    It's down to three men and three women in 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
    Matt Miller shoots big numbers to overtake the lead in 46th QubicaAMF World Cup
    Gye Min-Young widens her lead in Women's Bowling World Cup Round of 24
    Team USA's John Szczerbinski tops Men's Division after qualifying at Bowling World Cup
    Achim Grabowski rises to the top as Men's Squad A has finished World Cup Qualifying
    Korea's Gye Min-Young leads top 24 women into Intermediate Round
    Aumi Guerra sets the pace as Women Squad A has completed the 16-game preliminaries
    John Szczerbinski averages over 246 to overtake the lead in Men's World Cup
    Asian women dominate QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup after the second block
    Business as usual at the 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
    Bowling is cancelled for Tuesday at 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
    Mads Sandbækken powers his way into the lead at Men's Bowling World Cup
    Wendy Chai, Gye Min-Young atop the women's field after Day One Qualifying
    Holly Fleming is the early leader in the Women's Qualifying at QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
    Biboy Rivera leads Men's Qualifying after Day One
    Swiss Kwan Harn-Chieh sets the pace in Men's QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
    Preview of the 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
    Canada's Schmidt, Wong en route to France for the 2010 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
    Team USA's Dorin-Ballard, Szczerbinski ready to tackle World Cup
    Hulst; Sanders win NBF Bowling Tour Finals 2010 to represent Netherlands in the World Cup
    Rivera, Posadas earn Philippines' Bowling World Cup spots
    Ancarani, Manico cruise to victory in Swiss World Cup Qualifier
    Mizrahi, Aviram in the 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
    Zavjalova, Vēzis to represent Latvia at QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup in France
    Gablek, Kubalek win Austrian Bowling World Cup Qualifier
    Over 90 countries to participate in the 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
    46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup moves from Zagreb, Croatia, to Toulon, France
    Marcelo Suartz wins XIX Copa AMF Brazil to represent Brazil at 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
    MTV Party at Bowling 300 Zagreb, host of the 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
    46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup to be held in October in Zagreb, Croatia